Democratic Legislators Back Obama

(AP Photo/Charles Rex Arbogast)

Presidential hopeful Sen. Barack Obama (D-IL) earned the endorsement of several Kansas Senators and Representatives Thursday afternoon ahead of the state's upcoming caucus on Feb. 5th.

The earlier caucus date will offer Kansans a greater opportunity to have their voices heard in the nomination process, noted Lawrence Representative Paul Davis before announcing the formal endorsement of the thirteen Democratic legislators.

An endorsement that came, according to Senate Minority Leader Anthony Hensley (Topeka), in "response to the voters whose voices at the grassroots level have spoken loud and clear as to whom they want their state legislators to support.

"They want a President who will tell them the truth, instead of telling them what they want to hear," Hensley continued. "They want a president who won't take them for granted, as they believe so many politicians in Washington have done for so many years... This election year is a year of choice, not to choose simply who will lead us, but where we wish to be led. I believe that leader is Barack Obama."

"Poll after poll, Kansans have shown they are ready for change," said Kansas City Senator David Haley. "As president, Barack Obama will shift our country into a new gear and make the United States a respected leader on the world stage once again."

Rep. Candy Ruff (Leavenworth) looked towards Sen. Obama's familial ties to state, whose mother and grandparents are from Kansas.

"During [Sen. Obama's] last visit, he spoke candidly how the struggles of his mother's people endured while living in Kansas and how it shaped his strong sense of faith and community," Rep. Ruff recalled.

As the only major candidate to have ties to our state," she added. " he is the best person to understand the challenges facing Kansans today and to help move our state forward."

A complete list of legislators in attendance Thursday:
Senate Minority Leader Anthony Hensley, D-Topeka
Senator Donald Betts, D-Wichita
Senator David Haley, D-Kansas City
Senator Marci Francisco, D-Lawrence
Senator Chris Steineger, D-Kansas City
Representative Paul Davis, D-Lawrence
Representative Cindy Neighbor, D-Shawnee
Representative Candy Ruff, D-Leavenworth
Representative Melody McCray-Miller, D-Wichita
Representative Valdenia Winn, D-Kansas City
Representative Harold Lane, D-Topeka
Representative Oletha Faust-Goudeau, D-Wichita
Representative Broderick Henderson, D-Kansas City