Federal Help for Kansas

By  | 

Kansas will receive federal help cleaning up from a January storm that left hundreds of thousands without electricity.

President Bush issued a disaster declaration Wednesday for 32 of the state's 105 counties. Besides the ice that felled power lines, several communities experienced heavy rains and flooding. The storm moved through the state from Jan. 4-6.

Topeka-based Westar Energy has said about 211,000 of its customers lost electricity as a result of the storm. Some of the worst outages were in the Wichita area, where some customers were without power for as many as ten days.

The disaster declaration includes Anderson, Atchison, Barber, Butler, Chase, Chautauqua, Clark, Coffey, Comanche, Cowley, Crawford, Douglas, Elk, Franklin, Greenwood, Harper, Harvey, Jefferson, Kingman, Lyon, Marion, Morris, Osage, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Sedgwick, Shawnee, Sumner, Wabaunsee, Woodson and Wyandotte.