Risner, Williams lead K-State, KU Coaches' All-Big 12 honorees

Kansas running back Pooka Williams Jr. (1) runs against Oklahoma during the first half of an NCAA college football game between Kansas and Oklahoma in Norman, Okla., Saturday, Nov. 17, 2018. (AP Photo/Alonzo Adams)

(WIBW) - The Big 12 revealed 11 Jayhawks and five Wildcats on its Coaches' All-Conference teams on Wednesday.

Kansas running back Pooka Williams is the conference's Offensive Freshman of the year. He's also a first-team All-Big 12 member as a running back and punt returner. Williams is the first KU freshman to receive either of those honors.

The New Orleans native rushed for 1,125 yards this season while averaging 102.3 yards per game. He scored seven rushing touchdowns and ranks sixth in the FBS in all-purpose yards at 150.9 per game.

Kansas State offensive lineman Dalton Risner shared the league's Offensive Lineman of the Year award with Oklahoma's Dru Samia and West Virginia's Yodny Cajuste. He's also just the fourth offensive lineman in Big 12 history to earn first-team recognition in three straight seasons.

The senior Wildcat is thought of by many to be a future first-round NFL draft pick. Risner is also a finalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy, which annually recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation.

Joining Williams and Risner on the All-Big 12 First Team are KU's Joe Dineen Jr. and Daniel Wise. Dineen just finished leading the conference in tackles for a second straight year. The linebacker is KU's single-season and career record-holder for tackles for loss as well.

Wise is the only Kansas defensive lineman to earn back-to-back first-team honors since the inception of the Big 12. He led the Jayhawks with 12.5 tackles for loss and sacks with five in 2018.

K-State is represented on the second team by running back Alex Barnes and defensive back Duke Shelley. Barnes led the Big 12 in rushing in 2018, going for 1,355 yards with 12 touchdowns. Shelley led the Wildcats with three interceptions despite missing the final five games of the season due to injury.

Jayhawks on the second team include offensive lineman Hakeem Adeniji and punter Kyle Thompson. Adeniji started all 12 games at left tackle for Kansas while Thompson averaged the most yards per punt in the Big 12 with 43.3.

Honorable mentions include the following Wildcats and Jayhawks: punter Devin Anctil (K-State), defensive end Kyle Ball (K-State), defensive back Hasan Defense (KU), defensive back Mike Lee (KU), defensive back Bryce Torneden (KU) and kicker Gabriel Rui (KU).

Kansas defensive back Corione Harris was also an honorable mention for the conference's Defensive Newcomer of the Year award, while Jayhawk wide receiver Stephon Robinson Jr. was honorably mentioned for Offensive Newcomer of the Year.

Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray won the conference's Offensive Player of the Year award while West Virginia linebacker David Long Jr. won Defensive Player of the Year.