Area High School State Wrestling Qualifiers

By  | 

(WIBW) -- After a long season of hard work, quite a few area athletes are heading to the 2019 KSHSAA State Wrestling tournament after earning bids.

Washburn Rural set a school record on Saturday, qualifying 13 of its wrestlers for state and sending four to the finals. The top eight wrestlers in each weight class qualified for the tournament.

The Junior Blues as a team, though, are still ranked No. 4 in the state behind Manhattan.

The Indians also qualified 13 of its wrestlers for next week's state tournament, including sending five to Saturday's finals.

Derby took home the team honors with 216 points, followed by Manhattan with 211.5 points and Washburn Rural with 202.

Junction City landed six wrestlers in the state tournament while Topeka High had one wrestler qualify.

In Class 5A, all four of Topeka's schools qualified at least one competitor.

Seaman landed 11 in the state tournament followed by Shawnee Heights with eight, Highland Park with three and Topeka West with one.

Emporia had two wrestlers reach the regionals finals and qualified nine wrestlers overall for state.

In Class 4A, Marysville took home the regional championship with 226.5 points followed by Abilene with 168 and Holton with 149. Santa Fe Trail landed in fourth with 132 points.

In Classes 3A, 2A and 1A, Silver Lake and Riley County each placed seven wrestlers, Sabetha placed six, Rossville, Riverside and Council Grove each placed four, Mission Valley placed two and Osage City placed two.

State wrestling tournaments are Feb. 22 and Feb. 23.

Class 6A and 5A will be held at Hartman Arena in Park City; Class 4A will be held at Tony's Pizza Events Center in Salina; and Class 3A, 2A and 1A will be held at Gross Memorial Coliseum on the Fort Hays State University campus.

For more information, visit KSHSAA's wrestling page.


106 – Bishop Murray, Washburn Rural
113 – Easton Taylor, Manhattan; Caleb Douglas, Washburn Rural
120 – Blayne Danford, Junction City; Tate Sauder, Manhattan; Bowan Murray, Washburn Rural
126 – Gavin Collins, Washburn Rural; Tucker Brunner, Manhattan; Zane Thornton, Junction City
132 – Nick Vincent, Washburn Rural; Blaisen Bammes, Manhattan
138 – Jacob Mitchell, Manhattan; John Vincent, Washburn Rural; Matthew Whitton, Junction City
145 – Cole Wells, Washburn Rural; Darius Island-Jones, Manhattan
152 – CJ Neuman, Junction City; Dalton Sparling, Washburn Rural; Daron Island-Jones, Manhattan
160 – Bubba Wilson, Manhattan; Jake Brunton, Washburn Rural
170 – Sadiki Smith, Junction City; Caemen Blake, Topeka High; Quincy Saddler, Manhattan
182 – Gavin Carter, Washburn Rural; Stephen White, Manhattan
195 – Preston Williams, Washburn Rural; Terrance Adeleye, Junction City; Robert Houston, Manhattan
220 – Christian Schlepp, Manhattan; Caden Cress, Washburn Rural
285 – David Huckstep, Washburn Rural; Damion Ilalio, Manhattan


106 – Austin Lady, Seaman; Brooks Sauder, Emporia
113 – Javier Osorio, Highland Park; Chandler Buessing, Seaman; Freddy Maisberger IV, Shawnee Heights
120 – Decker Stickelman, Shawnee Heights; Kyle Adams, Seaman
126 – Cameron Smith, Seaman; Levi Buckridge, Emporia
138 – Caden Walker, Shawnee Heights
145 – Cade Wathke, Shawnee Heights; Cadin Worcester, Seaman; Efren Palomares, Emporia
152 – Ethan Garate, Emporia; Baily Meredith, Seaman; Keegan Miller, Highland Park
160 – Dylan Williams, Seaman; Isaac Huber, Emporia; Alex Walker, Shawnee Heights; Joe Randles, Topeka West
170 – Evan Scragg, Seaman; Anthony Delgado, Emporia; Zack Gonzales, Shawnee Heights; Kenny Hartzell, Highland Park
182 – Blake Smith, Seaman
195 – Drew Baker, Emporia
220 – Zyree White, Shawnee Heights; Whitney Hall, Emporia; Ezra Shove, Seaman
285 – Jared Kerr, Seaman; Dalton Leek, Emporia


106 – Jake Barnes, Holton; Sajen Kemling, Concordia; Jacob Hollman, Osawatomie; Rhett Koppes, Clay Center; Robert Crooks, Ottawa; Kaleb Stroda, Abilene
113 – Chance Mitzner, Osawatomie; Jordan Anguish, Concordia; Garrett Kalivoda, Clay Center; William Stroda, Abilene
120 – Cayden Jackson, Holton; Evan Totty, Burlington; Isaac Novotny, Marysville; Ryland Wright, Anderson County; Tanner Shoup, Rock Creek; Christian Rowe, Santa Fe Trail; Richard Blevins, Ottawa
126 – Ethan Crownover, Marysville; Drew Brown, Wamego; Parker Tholstrup, Clay Center; Caedon Berkenmeier, Burlington; Collin Creach, Ottawa
132 – Ethan Totty, Burlington; Adler Pierson, Wamego; Jakob Snellings, Marysville; Kolby Roush, Holton; Kael Lane, Ottawa
138 – Drew Burenheide, Rock Creek; Taygen Fletcher, Holton; Jonny Crome, Marysville; Thad Metcalfe, Perry-Lecompton; Jackson Randles, Abilene
145 – Dacotah Lee, Wamego; Joey Bockin, Marysville; Hunter Nold, Rock Creek; Austin Wuthnow, Abilene
152 – Cael Jackson, Holton; Zach Jeanneret, Santa Fe Trail; Cael Johnson, Burlington; Derek Roever, Marysville; Grant Roush, Perry-Lecompton
160 – Noah Ackerman, Marysville; Caleb Jeanneret, Santa Fe Trail; Hunter Schroeder, Concordia; Austin Spangler, Ottawa
170 – Storm Slupianek, Marysville; Joel Scott, Jefferson West; Logan Allen, Anderson County; Dakotah Whiteley, Abilene
182 – Matt Lindhorst, Marysville; Dominic Sutton, Anderson County; Will DeVader, Hayden; Konnor Tannahill, Holton; Brett Bober, Burlington; Tucker Mace, Ottawa; Colby Mohr, Abilene
195 – Jason Prettyman, Santa Fe Trail; Dalton Harvey, Chapman; Garron Champoux, Marysville; Brett Ferguson, Ottawa; Josiah Schwarz, Abilene
220 – Hayden Robb, Perry-Lecompton; Zachery Ferris, Chapman; Caleb Harmes, Santa Fe Trail; Dawson Wuthnow, Abilene
285 – Collin Rossillon, Perry-Lecompton; Logan McDonald, Clay Center; Ryely Seals, Santa Fe Trail; Keegan Kuhlmann, Burlington; Adam Henely, Abilene

3A, 2A, 1A

106 – Tyler Fief, Riley County; Zach Archer, Rossville; Mason Fuller, Beloit; Trevor Ragland, Pleasant Ridge
113 – Justin Rakestraw, Silver Lake; Horace Thelwell, Jr., Riley County; Ethan Elliott, Wellsville; Tom Van Valkenburg, White City
120 – Elijah Collins, Osage City; Alex Archer, Rossville; Wyatt Johnson, Council Grove
126 – Kai Allen, Silver Lake; Kaden Dillon, Sabetha; Grayden Jackson, Riley County; Charles King, St. Marys
132 – Tate Kadel, Beloit; Jason Schroeder, Silver Lake; Beau Horn, Riverside; Billy Sales, Council Grove; Ethan Ewing, Wellsville
138 – Chase Bacon, Council Grove; Sam Twombly, Rossville; Wyatt Bird, Wellsville
145 – Luke Horn, Riverside; Kamden Brownlee, Sabetha; Luke Richard, Riley County; Cory Owen, Chase County
152 – Colby Tinklin, Sabetha; Daigan Kruger, Silver Lake; Calvan Brown, St. Marys; Anthony Signs, Wellsville
160 – Cael Budke, Chase County; Deon Barnes, Riley County; Walker Lowdermilk, Sabetha; Kinstin Juhl, Riverside
170 – Quenton Barron, Riverside; Caleb Hinck, Mission Valley; Dawson Schwarz, Silver Lake; Mikey Waggoner, Riley County
182 – Nathaniel Howerton, Doniphan West; Braden Burks, Beloit; Eli King, Oskaloosa; Jon Rakestraw, Silver Lake; Chase Own, Chase County
195 – Kody Davoren, Rossville; Jon Grame, Mission Valley; Gideon Remer, Silver Lake; River Paul, Beloit; Trystin McCoy, Riley County
220 – Cauey Rokey, Sabetha; Creighton Johnson, Beloit; Riley Schuneman, Doniphan West; Dane Whalen, Osage City; Preston Gilbert, Council Grove
285 – Nolan Parker, Mission Valley; Christophe King, Oskaloosa; Norman Miller, Doniphan West; Elliot Strahm, Sabetha