USD 437 and USD 501 School Boards get new members

Unofficial Apalachicola run-off election results. (MGN)
Unofficial Apalachicola run-off election results. (MGN)(WJHG)
Published: Nov. 5, 2019 at 11:15 PM CST
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

The unofficial USD 501 and USD 437 School Board election results are in.

Nine candidates ran for seats on the Topeka School Board. Four current board members are leaving after more than 12 years.

Lalo Munoz won more than half of the votes for District 1, Position 4. He celebrated the results at a watch party at a Mexican restaurant, Casserolle, in Topeka, surrounded by friends and family.

“I feel great. I’m extremely confident to have the confidence of voters and to work on the School Board. And to do what I can to help serve families. And so I want to take this seriously. I will. And I look forward to doing what I can to make sure that every kid is as successful as possible,” he said.

Other 501 School Board winner included:

  • Sue R. Bolley, District 2, Position 5
  • C. Richard Bonebrake, Member At Large
  • Melanie Stuart-Campbell, Distirct 3, Position 3

Stuart-Campbell, who ran unopposed, said she is excited for what’s next.

“I wanted to run for school board to have a positive impact on our students and our staff. To just make a difference in the education of our students because it’s just so important,” she added.

Only one new person will join the Auburn Washburn School Board.

Tara Dimick will now represent District C. She also began the evening at a watch party at The Burger Stand. She says she already has plans as she heads into a new role.

“It’s important for me and to me to continue to help that excellence right now in the strategic planning process, and I want to be part of that. I want to help hear the voices of everyone else, and make sure they’re at the table,” she explained.

Returning USD 437 School Board Member returning after reelection include:

  • David Hines, District A, Position 1
  • Matt Ewald, District B, Position 2
  • Tom Bruno, Member At Large

Latest News

Latest News