Safe Kids Kansas honors advocates for life saving work

(WIBW/Danielle Martin)
(WIBW/Danielle Martin)(WIBW)
Published: Dec. 3, 2019 at 6:03 PM CST
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Preventable injuries are the number one killer of kids in the U.S.

Organizations and individuals from around the state were honored for life saving work.

"So many of these individuals they don't seek out the limelight for the work that their doing," State Director or Safe Kids Kansas Cherie Sage said. "They do it, because it's the right thing to do and they want to save children and families from suffering."

Safe Kids Kansas honored advocates on Tuesday, who help them in their mission to keep kids from getting hurt.

"It's our opportunity to raise awareness of the issue, and the fact there are these wonderful people that are out and committing themselves to this incredible work," Sage emphasized.

Board member of Safe Kids Kansas, Katie Schatte agreed that their work is valuable, "I think it's so rewarding where we can honor someone for all their hard work, their time, their talent, their tenacity."

Among the honorees, Safe Kids Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation was named Local Coalition of the Year.

KDHE Bureau of Family Health – Special Health Care Needs -- and Kiowa County EMS shared Outstanding Coalition Organization honors.

Rachel Ault with Stormont Vail and Safe Kids Shawnee County, and KDHE's Philip Harris received Service Recognition awards.

This year's top honor - the Dr. Dennis Cooley award was presented to Lori Haskett, Regional Manager of National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

"She's really spent her entire career dedicated to saving lives and improving the health of Kansans," Sage said. "She has done that by serving by helping out at car seat check lane events, or fitting bike helmets at Safe Kids day at the zoo. She really will pitch in wherever is necessary to help make sure kids are safe."

Lori says she plans to continue making a difference.

"I'm so honored to receive this award today. I'm hopeful to continue working with Safe Kids well into the future," Haskett said. "When she handed me the award,I hope i'm not done yet, I'm very passionate about preventing injury in kids, in everyone in Kansas."

Safe Kids Kansas presented the following awards during their annual meeting:

Outstanding Partnership for Child Safety:

  • Charlie’s House, Johnson County
  • McCarthy Chevrolet, Johnson County

Outstanding Coalition Organization:

  • KDHE Bureau of Family Health – Special Health Care Needs
  • Kiowa County EMS

Coalition of the Year – Safe Kids Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation

Service Recognition Awards:

  • Rachel Ault, Stormont Vail Health and Safe Kids Shawnee County
  • Philip Harris, KDHE Bureau of Health Promotion
  • Heather Bouldrey, Volunteer for Safe Kids Johnson County

Latest News

Latest News