Kansas Society of Washington, D.C. names Bill Self 2019 Kansan of the Year

By  | 

WASHINGTON, D.C. (WIBW) - The Kansas Society of Washington, D.C. named Kansas men's basketball head coach Bill Self its 2019 Kansan of the Year on Wednesday night.

Self was honored with the award at a banquet in our nation's capital. According to Kansas athletics, KU athletics director Jeff Long, Self's wife Cindy and other athletic department staff and KU officials also made the trip for the festivities.

Over 16 seasons with the Jayhawks, Self has become the second winningest coach in KU men's hoops history. The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame coach has won a national title, appeared in three Final Four's and captured 14 Big 12 regular-season titles during his time at Kansas.

Self is joining a prominent list of recent winners of this award. You can view it below.

2007 - Bill Snyder

2008 - David B. Dillon

2009 - Robert Hemenway and Jon Wefald

2010 - Honorable Sam Brownback, Honorable Dennis Moore

2011 - Eric Stonestreet

2012 - Jordy Nelson

2013 - Honorable Jim Ryun

2014 - Rob Riggle

2015 - Mark Turgeon

2016 - Adam LaRoche

2017 - Bernadette Gray-Little

2018 - Honorable Lynn Jenkins

2019 - Bill Self