KEMA annual conference honors emergency management professionals

TOPEKA, Kan. (WIBW) -- People on the front lines of disaster response earned honors for their efforts Thursday. The Kansas Emergency Management Association held its annual awards banquet.

The event honors emergency preparedness professionals and supporters those who go above and beyond to support their peers and communities.

The banquet also recognizes emergency management professionals who have obtained or renewed their industry certification.

Earning top honors as this year's Emergency Management Professional of the Year was Kathleen Fabrizius of Trego County.

The banquet also marks the start of Laurie Harrison with Riley County Emergency Management's term as the KEMA president.

"The first responders are the ones that people see and we're supporting them,” Harrison said. “To be behind the scenes and get that recognition is needed so these folks know they're doing a great job and it's appreciated."

13's Shawn Wheat and Melissa Brunner emceed the banquet. It's part of KEMA’s four-day annual conference, which wraps up Friday.

KEMA Annual Award Winners
Outstanding Service Award:
Hannah Stambaugh, Saline Co. Emergency Mgt.

Leon H. Mannell Outstanding Emergeny Mgt. Support Professional:
Abbigail Doherty, Barber Co.

Randy Reineker Instructor of the Year:
Nathan Brown, KS Dept. of Emergency Mgt.

Col. Mahlon G. Weed Outstanding New Emergency Mgt. Professional:
Jenni Cravens, Cheyenne Co. Emergency Mgt.

Owen U. Turrentine Emergency Mgt. Professional of the Year:
Kathleen Fabrizius, Trego Co. Emergency Mgt.