K-State holds annual men's basketball banquet

Published: Apr. 11, 2019 at 10:35 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

The Kansas State men's basketball team held its annual banquet on Thursday night to celebrate the accomplishments of the Big 12 co-championship team and its three departing seniors.

Barry Brown, Kamau Stokes and Dean Wade each shared the Rolando Blackman Most Valuable Player Award.

Brown also captured the Porky Morgan Most Inspirational Player award, the Jack Hartman Top Defensive Player award and the Mitch Richmond Mr. Basketball award, while Stokes took home the Bob Boozer Courage award and the 1st Battalion 7th Field Artillery "Never Broken Award." Wade won the Tex Winter Top Offensive Player award on top of MVP.

The senior trio led K-State to the sixth-most wins in a four-year period with 88 and three consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances. Together, they combined for 4,533 career points and each finished among the school's Top 20 scorers.

"We're going to miss Barry, Dean and Kam, there's no doubt," said Bruce Weber, KSU head coach. "I asked Tom (Gilbert) if there's ever been another class to have three 1,000-point scorers, and no, that hasn't happened.

"We're going to lose a lot."

Xavier Sneed won the Jack Hartman Top Defensive Player and Ernie Barrett Play Hard award; Makol Mawien won the Ed Nearly Most Improved Player; Pierson McAtee won the Keith Amerson Academic Award and Cartier Diarra won the Dean Harris Sixth Man award.

"(I) feel good about those guys," Weber said. "Can some of the new guys that are here take a step? They had a taste of it: the good and the bad, and now what do they do with it?"

K-State ended the 2018-19 season with a 25-9 overall record.