Graham named Big 12 POY; mutiple Jayhawks & Wildcats on All-Big 12 teams

NORMAN, OK - JANUARY 23: Kansas Jayhawks Guard Devonte' Graham (4) during a college basketball game between the Kansas Jayhawks and the Oklahoma Sooners on January 23, 2018, at the Lloyd Noble Center in Norman, OK. (Photo by David Stacy/Icon Sportswire) (Icon Sportswire via AP Images)
By  | 

IRVING, Texas (WIBW) -- Kansas Jayhawks senior guard Devonte' Graham was unanimously selected as the Big 12 Player of the Year.

Graham is the 12th Jayhawk to win this award, the ninth since joining the Big 12 Conference.

Graham averaged 17.6 points and 7.2 assists per game this season.

"I am so happy for Devonte', it's well deserved," Bill Self said. "He's played as big a role on this team I believe as any player that we've had since we've been here, on any team. Everyone inside the program knows it goes far past statistics. We're really happy for him. It's well deserved."

Kansas sophomore Malik Newman, a transfer from Mississippi State, was named the Newcomer of the Year.

Along with Graham, Kansas State's Dean Wade as named an All-Big 12 First Team selection.

Sviatoslav Mykhailiuk and Barry Brown Jr., were named to the Second Team.

Bill Self shares Coach of the Year with Texas Tech's Chris Beard.

2017-18 All-Big 12 Team

Player of the Year - Devonte' Graham, Kansas (Sr., G)
Defensive Player of the Year - Javon Carter, West Virginia (Sr., G)
Newcomer of the Year - Malik Newman, Kansas (R-So., G)
Freshman of the Year - Trae Young, Oklahoma (Fr., G)
Sixth Man Award - Terry Maston, Baylor (Sr., F)
co-Coach of the Year - Bill Self, Kansas; Chris Beard, Texas Tech

All-Big 12 First Team
Devonte' Graham, Kansas (Sr., G)
Dean Wade, Kansas State (Jr., F)
Trae Young, Oklahoma (Fr., G)
Keenan Evans, Texas Tech (Sr., G)
Jevon Carter, West Virginia (Sr., G)

All-Big 12 Second Team
Manu Lecomte, Baylor (Sr., G)
Sviatoslav Mykhailiuk, Kansas (Sr., G)
Barry Brown Jr., Kansas State (Jr., G)
Kenrich Williams, TCU (Sr., F)
Mohamba Bamba, Texas (Fr., F)

All-Big 12 Third Team
Jo Lual-Acuil Jr., Baylor (Sr., C)
Udoka Azubuike, Kansas (So., C)
Jeffrey Carroll, Oklahoma State (Sr., G)
Vladimir Brodziansky, TCU (Sr., F)
Sagaba Konate, West Virginia (So., F)

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention (Listed alphabetically by school)
Cameron Lard (Iowa State), Donovan Jackson (Iowa State), Lindell Wigginton (Iowa State), Lagerald Vick (Kansas), Matt Coleman (Texas), Dylan Osetkowski (Texas), Kerwin Roach II (Texas), Zhaire Smith (Texas Tech)

Big 12 All-Defensive Team
Barry Brown Jr., Kansas State (Jr., G)
Mohamba Bamba, Texas (Fr., F)
Sagaba Konate, West Virginia (So., F)
Jevon Carter, West Virginia (Sr., G)
Zhaire Smith, Texas Tech (Fr., G)

Big 12 All-Newcomer Team
Lindell Wigginton, Iowa State (Fr., G)
Malik Newman, Kansas (R-So., G)
Trae Young, Oklahoma (Fr., G)
Mohamed Bamba, Texas (Fr., F)
Zhaire Smith, Texas Tech (Fr., G)