All 5 Kansas Supreme Court Justices retained

By  | 

TOPEKA, Kan. (WIBW)-- All of the five of the Kansas Supreme Court Justices were retained on Tuesday.

Courtesy: MGN Online
Courtesy: MGN Online

Justices Lawton Nuss, Marla Luckert, Carol Beier, Dan Biles and Caleb Stegall won retention. Stegall was appointed to the high court by Governor Brownback August 29, 2014 to fill the remainder of Federal judge Nancy Moritz's term, and was included in the retention election question. He won with nearly 75% approval, while the other justices posted 57% approval votes to stay on the bench.

Well-funded groups that both opposed and supported the court sent mailers, ran radio and TV spots in the weeks leading up the election. It was the first time there was organized opposition to the court.

Kansans for Justice was the main group leading opposition to the retention of the court.

"We are disappointed that Kansas voters left bad justices in place in Topeka. This is a win for criminals and a loss for victims," said Kansans for Justice spokesperson Amy James."This has always been about Brad, Aaron, Jason, Heather, Ann, the two survivors, and other victims in other cases that have been mistreated. Family members will continue to wait for the long and painful appeal process that the Kansas Supreme Court Justices control."

Kansans for Fair Courts led the effort to keep all of the justices.

"It appears that the Kansas voters as saying they want fair and impartial courts," said Spokesperson for Kansans for Fair Court Joyce Morrison. "They don't want politics or politicians in the court."