5 Republicans face off in Primary for KS Sec. of State

By  | 

TOEPKA, Kan. (KWCH) -- Tuesday's Primary Election will determine which of five Republican candidates will face a Democratic software engineer from Lawrence on Nov. 6 to become the state's next secretary of state. The post is currently held by Kris Kobach who is running for governor.


The five Republican candidates in the race are Randy Duncan, the former chairman of the Saline County Republican Party and former Saline County commissioner, state representative Keith Esau who chairs the House Elections Committee, former Deputy Assistant Secretary of State Craig McCullah, Rep. Scott Schwab, who serves as speaker pro tem in the Kansas House and Dennis Taylor, a former Shawnee County Commissioner who's service to Kansas includes former roles as secretary of the Department of Human Resources (now the Department of Labor) and as secretary of the Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services (now called the Department for Children an Families).