10th Judicial District to interview nominees for judge vacancy

Published: Nov. 25, 2020 at 6:21 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

TOPEKA, Kan. (WIBW) - The 10th Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet to interview employees for a vacant judge seat.

The 10th Judicial District Nominating Commission says it will meet via videoconference on Dec. 9 to interview nominees to fill a district judge vacancy that was created by Judge Thomas Foster’s Nov. 29 retirement.

According to the Commission, the 10th Judicial District is made up of Johnson County.

The Commission said it will meet via videoconference on Wednesday, Dec. 9, at 8 a.m. and will recess for lunch from noon to 1 p.m. It said it originally planned to interview nominees in person.

According to the Commission, interviews will be open to the public and livestreamed on the Kansas judicial branch YouTube channel.

The Commission said it will accept public comment shortly after it meets. It said to comment residents should call 1-877-400-9499 and enter conference code 2199381974.

According to the Commission, the interview schedule is as follows:

  • 9 a.m.
    • Michael Frank McCulloch, Olathe, chief public defender, 10th Judicial District Public Defender Office
  • 9:30 a.m.
    • Michael Richard-Tel Parrett, Shawnee, lawyer, Law Offices of Tel Parrett
  • 10 a.m.
    • Krishnan Christopher Jayaram, Overland Park, lawyer at Horn Aylward & Bandy
  • 10:30 a.m.
    • Kevin Breer, Westwood, managing member, Breer Law Firm
  • 11 a.m.
    • Vanessa Riebli, Olathe, section chief, Johnson County District Attorney’s Office
  • 11:30 a.m.
    • Joshua Allen, Prairie Village, city prosecutor for several cities
  • 1 p.m.
    • Jenifer Ashford, Olathe, district magistrate judge, 10th Judicial District

The Commission said nominees for a district judge are required to be at least 30 years old, a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas and engaged in the practice for at least five years and a resident of the judicial district at the time of taking office and while holding it.

According to the Commission, it will interview nominees and then choose three to five names to send to Governor Laura Kelly, who then has 60 days to fill the position according to statutory qualifications and residency requirements.

The Commission said after serving one year in office, the new judge will stand for a retention vote in the next general election, and if retained will serve a four-year term.

The 10th Judicial District Nominating Commission said it is made up of Justice Evelyn Wilson as the nonvoting chair, Thomas Bath of Leawood, John Parisi of Leawood, Samuel Turner Sr. of Leawood, Joe Beveridge of Lenexa, Stephene Moore of Lenexa, Annabeth Surbaugh of Lenexa, Laura McConwell of Mission, Doug Brownlee of Olathe, James Griffith of Olathe, Stephen Tatum of Olathe, Rick Guinn of Overland Park, Kevin Moriarty of Overland Park and Josie Herrera of Shawnee.

Copyright 2020 WIBW. All rights reserved.