266th Basic Training Class graduates from Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center

 Credit: Derek Seifert / U.S. Air Force
Credit: Derek Seifert / U.S. Air Force (KKTV)
Published: Aug. 14, 2020 at 4:52 PM CDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

LAWRENCE, Kan. (WIBW) - The 266th Basic Training Class is graduating from the Kansas Law Enforcement Center.

The Kansas Law Enforcement Center at the University of Kansas says 25 new law enforcement officers graduated from the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center on Aug. 7 at a ceremony held in its Integrity Auditorium.

KLETC says Alexander Riggins of the Hill City Police Department was the graduating class president and James Buettgenbach, KLETC instructor of police and clas coordinator for the 266th, was speaker for the ceremony.

According to KLETC, Ray Boese of the Emporia Police Department was awarded the Welch Academic Award of Excellence for outstanding grades and Brian Pangburn of the Morris County Sheriff’s Office was awarded the Top Shot firearms award.

The KLETC says the new officers were members of the 266th basic training class and the graduates who began their journey in February, represented 21 municipal, county and state law enforcement agencies throughout Kansas.

According to KLETC, graduates receive certificates of course completion from it and Kansas law enforcement certification from the Kansas Commission on Peace Officers’ Standards and Training which is the state’s law enforcement authority. It says the training course fulfills requirements for law enforcement training set by the Commission. It says classroom lectures and hands-on applications help train officers to solve increasingly complex problems they will face in the line of duty.

The KLETC says it was established by the Kansas Legislature in 1968 and trains the majority of municipal, county and state law enforcement officers in Kansas and oversees the training of the remaining officers at seven authorized and certified academy programs operated by local law enforcement agencies and the Kansas Highway Patrol.

According to the KELTC, about 300 officers enroll annually in its 14-week basic training programs. It says it offers continuing educational specialized training to over 10,000 Kansas officers each year. It says it is located one mile west and one mile south of Yoder, near Hutchinson, and is a division of the University of Kansas Lifelong and Professional Education.

The Center says those who granted permission to release their names and have graduated are listed by county as follows:

  • Barber
    • Jose Salinas, Barber County Sheriff’s Office
  • Barton
    • Amber Kai, Great Bend Police Department
  • Butler
    • Billy Cole, Butler County Sheriff’s Office

    • Raquel Dean, Augusta Department of Public Safety

    • Antonio Mosqueda, El Dorado Police Department
  • Cowley
    • Lisa Dominique Delgado, Arkansas City Police Department

    • Alicia Pack, Arkansas City Police Department

    • Michael Yzquierdo, Arkansas City Police Department
  • Crawford
    • James Claeys, Pittsburgh State University Police Department
  • Dickinson
    • Cody Robert Morlan, Herington Police Department
  • Ford
    • Dayton Quint, Dodge City Police Department
  • Geary
    • James Williams, Junction City Police Department

    • Marissa Ziegler, Junction City Police Department
    • Graham
Alexander Riggins, Hill City Police Department
  • Jewell
    • Colton Koch, Jewell County Sheriff’s Office 
  • Labette
    • Justin Jones, Parsons Police Department
  • Lyon
    • Ray Boese, Emporia Police Department
Patrick Renfro, Emporia Police Department
  • McPherson
    • Brandon Lawson Archuleta, McPherson County Sheriff’s Office
  • Montgomery
    • Dylan Conger, Coffeyville Police Department
  • Morris
    • Brian Pangburn, Morris County Sheriff’s Office
  • Riley
    • Jonathan Kunkleman, Kansas State University Police Department
  • Shawnee
    • Virgil Collins, Shawnee County Sheriff’s Office 
  • Sherman
    • Lake Mellott, Sherman County Sheriff’s Office
  • Sumner
    • Autumn Ferris, Caldwell Police Department

For more information on the KLETC, visit its University of Kansas webpage.

Copyright 2020 WIBW. All rights reserved.

Latest News

Latest News