President approves disaster aid for Ala. counties

WASHINGTON (AP) -- President Barack Obama has declared a major disaster for Alabama counties affected by severe storms, flooding, tornadoes and straight-line winds in mid-April.

Obama signed the declaration Friday. It makes federal funding available to help pay for emergency work and repairing or replacing damaged facilities. The aid is available for Cullman, DeKalb, Jackson, Jefferson and Marshall counties.

It also makes the entire state eligible for federal money for hazard mitigation projects.

FEMA said additional designations may be made later if necessary.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 45395347 -
Gray Television, Inc.