Six Counties Added To Storm Declaration

(WIBW) More counties were added Tuesday to a Kansas disaster proclamation.

Gov. Sam Brownback added Barton, Hamilton, Kearney, Morton, Rush and Stanton Counties to his emergency declaration. The order is for damages from severe storms, flooding, flash flooding, hail, tornadoes and lightning that began June 1.

“This declaration opens the door for the state to assist the counties and to potentially request federal help, depending on the results of the damage assessments. We will do what we can to help these affected communities get back on their feet,” Brownback said.

The additions bring the total number of counties included in this emergency proclamation to 45. The counties previously included are Atchison, Chase, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Ellis, Ellsworth, Graham, Jackson, Jefferson, Jewell, Kiowa, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Logan, Marion, Marshall, Mitchell, , Ness, Norton, Osborne, Ottawa, Pottawatomie, Pratt, Republic, Riley, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Saline, Shawnee, Sherman, Stafford, Smith, Wallace, Washington and Wyandotte Counties.

The Governor issued the proclamation under the authority granted by the Kansas Emergency Management Act.

Answers for Kansans with flood-related questions can be found at Those with special needs should call *211 to register with the United Way so any additional assistance can be provided if needed.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 125045004 -
Gray Television, Inc.