Kansas Counties Eligible To Apply For Federal Disaster Help

By: From 13 News, Posted by Ralph Hipp
By: From 13 News, Posted by Ralph Hipp

WASHINGTON (WIBW) -- President Barack Obama has granted Gov. Sam Brownback’s September 25th request for a federal disaster declaration for a number of Kansas counties affected by severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding from July 22 to August 16th. The federal declaration was issued Tuesday.

“This federal assistance will help these counties restore roads, bridges and other infrastructure so vital to the day to day business of their communities,” said Brownback.

46 counties are eligible to apply for Public Assistance funds to help repair infrastructure damaged or destroyed by the storms. These counties are Barber, Barton, Bourbon, Butler, Chase, Cherokee, Clark, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Comanche, Cowley, Crawford, Dickinson, Edwards, Elk, Ellsworth, Ford, Geary, Greenwood, Hamilton, Harper, Harvey, Hodgeman, Kingman, Kiowa, Lane, Linn, Lyon, Marion, McPherson, Meade, Montgomery, Morris, Ness, Ottawa, Pawnee, Pratt, Reno, Republic, Rice, Saline, Sumner, Washington, Wilson, and Woodson.

Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

The declaration also authorizes all Kansas counties to apply for grants to mitigate the effects of future disasters through the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 228846391 - wibw.com/a?a=228846391
Gray Television, Inc.