Governor Sets Tour Of Drought-Stricken Areas

TOPEKA, Kan. (WIBW) - Gov. Sam Brownback will get a firsthand look Tuesday at how drought conditions are impacting Kansas.

The Governor will join Kansas Agriculture Secretary Dale Rodman and Water Office Director Tracy Streeter on a tour with stops in Saline County along the Smoky Hill River.

Last week, the USDA declared 82 Kansas counties federal disaster areas. The declaration makes producers in those counties eligible for disaster assistance programs.

The entire state is under some level of drought declaration.

The Governor will visit Neosho and Labette counties Wednesday, and make stops in the northwestern part of the state next week.

The following counties were included in the disaster declaration:

Primary Counties: Allen, Anderson, Barber, Barton, Bourbon, Butler, Chautquaua, Cheyenne, Clark, Coffey, Comanche, Cowley, Crawford, Decatur, Edwards, Elk, Finney, Ford, Gove, Graham, Grant, Gray, Greeley, Greenwood, Hamilton, Harper, Harvey, Haskell, Hodgeman, Kearney, Kingman, Kiowa, Labette, Lane, Linn, Logan, Lyon, McPherson, Meade, Montgomery, Morton, Neosho, Ness, Norton, Pawnee, Phillips, Pratt, Rawlins, Reno, Rice, Rooks, Scott, Sedgwick, Seward, Sheridan, Sherman, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens, Sumner, Thomas, Trego, Wallace, Wichita, Wilson and Woodson

Contiguous Counties: Chase, Cherokee, Dickinson, Ellis, Ellsworth, Franklin, Marion, Morris, Miami, Osage, Osborne, Rush, Russell, Saline, Smith and Wabaunsee

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 162669426 -
Gray Television, Inc.