Counties Added To Kansas Disaster Declaration

By: 13 News
By: 13 News

(WIBW) - Kansas Governor Sam Brownback added seven more counties to a disaster declaration Wednesday.

The proclamation covers damages from severe storms, flooding, flash flooding, hail, tornadoes and lightning that began June 1 and continues. Counties added to the Emergency Proclamation were Chase, Coffey, Graham, Kiowa, Ness, Wallace and Wyandotte Counties.

“This declaration opens the door for the state to assist the counties and to potentially request federal help, depending on the results of the damage assessments. We will do what we can to help them get back on their feet,” Brownback said.

Brownback signed the initial emergency proclamation June 3rd. It covered Atchison, Clay, Cloud, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Ellsworth, Jackson, Jefferson, Jewell, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Marshall, Mitchell, Osborne, Ottawa, Pottawatomie, Republic, Riley, Rooks, Russell, Saline, Shawnee and Smith Counties.

The Governor issued the proclamation under the authority granted by the Kansas Emergency Management Act.

Additional information from the Governor's office:
Answers for Kansans with flood-related questions can be found at Those with special needs should call *211 to register with the United Way so any additional assistance can be provided if needed.

Flood and evacuation information is available at and

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 124748594 -
Gray Television, Inc.