Adjutant General Updates KS Weather Threat

The following is from the Kansas Adjutant General's Office, Wednesday evening:

With the chances for more precipitation ranging from 10 percent in Southwest Kansas to 60 percent in the Northeast for Wednesday night, many Kansans are looking to the skies for storm clouds, as well as to the ground, watching creeks and rivers beginning to rise and overflow their banks.

Three Kansas counties--Barton, Smith and Rush-- issued declarations of local disaster emergency due to damage from tornadoes, high winds and flooding from May 24th, and two Kansas Counties—Jefferson and Lyon—issued declarations of local disaster emergency following the May 21st storms.

“The good news is that there is no precipitation currently forecast for the state after Wednesday,” said Angee Morgan, deputy director of the Kansas Division of Emergency Management. “We’ll still be keeping an eye on the forecasts and monitoring river and creek levels. As always, we’ll be ready to respond to whatever requests for assistance come in from the counties.”

Strong wind advisories are in place until 8 p.m. CDT for Clark, Finney, Ford, Grant, Gray, Hamilton, Haskell, Hodgeman, Kearny, Lane, Meade, Morton, Scott, Seward, Stanton and Stevens Counties.

Wind advisories have been issued for Barber, Barton, Cheyenne, Cloud, Comanche, Decatur, Edwards, Ellis, Ellsworth, Gove, Graham, Greeley, Harper, Harvey, Jewell, Kingman, Kiowa, Lincoln, Logan, McPherson, Mitchell, Ness, Norton, Osborne, Ottawa, Pawnee, Phillips, Pratt, Rawlins, Reno, Republic, Rice, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Saline, Sedgwick, Sheridan, Sherman, Smith, Stafford, Sumner, Trego, Thomas, Wallace and Wichita Counties. Those advisories are in effect until 9 p.m. CDT.

Flood warnings have also in effect for areas in several counties, including Atchison, Clay, Cloud, Doniphan, Jewell, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Mitchell, Osborne, Ottawa and Smith. Flood watches are in place for parts of Jewell, Mitchell, Osborne and Smith Counties.

Utility repair crews are assessing and working to repair damages already incurred from recent storms. Barton County reported 70 power poles down, affecting approximately 4,800 customers. Sherman and Thomas Counties reported a total of 30 poles down and 1,800 customers affected. Three poles were reported down in Lyon/Coffey Counties, along with numerous lines. Reno County had one pole down and one cracked in addition to damage to some power lines and other equipment. Thirteen poles and numerous power lines were down in Labette County.

In addition to power poles, numerous trees and tree limbs were blown down across the state, along with destruction and damage by high winds and flooding to isolated buildings, barns, sheds, bridges and other structures.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 122626439 -
Gray Television, Inc.