Emergency Haying and Grazing of CRP Lands Allowed in 91 Counties

By: From 13 News, Posted by Ralph Hipp
By: From 13 News, Posted by Ralph Hipp

WASHINGTON – Senator Pat Roberts says the USDA has announced additional Kansas counties will be eligible this Monday, July 16th, for emergency haying and grazing of Conservation Reserve Program (CRP) land due to severe drought. This action brings the total to 91 counties, including Shawnee, Riley and Geary Counties.

“I am pleased USDA has acted quickly to bring relief to those hard hit by severe drought across the state,” Roberts said. “I urge producers to contact their FSA office for more information.”

The following counties are eligible: Allen, Anderson, Barber, Barton, Bourbon, Butler, Chase, Cheyenne, Clark, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Comanche, Cowley, Decatur, Dickinson, Douglas, Ellsworth, Edwards, Ellis, Finney, Ford, Franklin, Geary, Graham, Grant, Gray, Greenwood, Gove, Greeley, Hamilton, Harper, Harvey, Haskell, Hodgeman, Jefferson, Jewell, Johnson, Kearny, Kingman, Kiowa, Lane, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Linn, Logan, Lyon, Marion, McPherson, Meade, Miami, Mitchell, Morris, Ness, Norton, Osage, Osborne, Ottawa, Pawnee, Phillips, Pratt, Pottawatomie, Rawlins, Reno, Republic, Rice, Riley, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Saline, Scott, Sedgwick, Seward, Shawnee, Sheridan, Sherman, Smith, Stafford, Stanton, Stevens, Sumner, Thomas, Trego, Wabaunsee, Wallace, Washington, Wichita, Woodson and Wyandotte.

(Senator Roberts is ranking member of the Senate Committee on Agriculture Nutrition and Forestry.)

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 162426076 - wibw.com/a?a=162426076
Gray Television, Inc.