Senator Roberts: Kansas Counties Declared Agriculture Disaster Areas

By: From 13 News
By: From 13 News

WICHITA – Senator Pat Roberts Tuesday announced the United States Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) disaster designations for several Kansas counties due to losses caused by high winds, flooding, lightening, hail and tornadoes that occurred from May 6th to June 20th this year.

USDA designated Chase, Cloud, Gove, Jewell, Lyon, Marshall, Rooks, Smith and Trego Counties as primary natural disaster areas, and Butler, Clay, Coffey, Ellis, Graham, Greenwood, Lane, Logan, Marion, Mitchell, Morris, Nemaha, Ness, Osage, Osborne, Ottawa, Phillips, Pottawatomie, Republic, Riley, Scott, Sheridan, Thomas, Wabaunsee and Washington as contiguous disaster counties.

“I am pleased USDA reviewed the significant production losses and declared these counties as disaster areas,” Senator Roberts said. “This declaration makes the affected Kansas producers eligible for much needed assistance and for some, the assistance is what will keep them in business.”

This designation makes farm operators in both primary and contiguous counties eligible to be considered for assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), including FSA emergency loans and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments Program depending on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 101439349 -
Gray Television, Inc.