Washburn Lands Two On All-MIAA Volleyball Team

By: MIAA Sports Information
By: MIAA Sports Information

Kansas City, Mo. – MIAA regular season co-champions Central Missouri and Washburn placed three and two members on the All-MIAA first team respectively. Nebraska-Kearney also placed two members on the first team and Missouri Western had one as the teams were released today.

The MIAA Player of the Year is Central Missouri setter Julia Bates who is third in the league in assists with 11.05 and second in the league in service aces as she helped her team to the league’s top hitting percentage. She is joined on the first team by Washburn setter Abby Wittman who is second in the MIAA in assists per set.

Washburn’s Marissa Cox and Central Missouri’s Taylor Goodness were each unanimous selections in the hitting positions. Goodness and Cox set first and second in the league in kills per set and both are in the top ten in hitting percentage.

They are joined along the net by MJ Massanet and Katie Sokolowski of Nebraska-Kearney along with Missouri Western outside hitter Erica Rottinghaus. Annie Reilly is the first team libero after averaging 5.33 digs per set during the regular season.

Pittsburg State’s Madison Mosier was named the MIAA Freshman of the Year after averaging 2.75 kills per set for her team during the regular season. Central Missouri’s Flip Piontek who guided his team to a 15-1 record in league play and a 29-1 overall record in the regular season.

The semi-finals of the MIAA Tournament are scheduled to begin on Friday, Nov. 22 at 5 p.m. from Warrensburg, Mo.

Player of the Year: Julia Bates, S, Central Missouri
Freshman of the Year: Madison Mosier, RS, Pittsburg State
Coach of the Year: Flip Piontek, Central Missouri

1st Team
Marissa Cox, RS, Washburn^
Taylor Goodness, OH, Central Missouri^
MJ Massanet, OH, Nebraska-Kearney
Erica Rottinghaus, OH, Missouri Western
Katie Sokolowski, MH, Nebraska-Kearney
Julia Bates, S, Central Missouri
Abby Wittman, S, Washburn
Annie Reilly, L, Central Missouri

2nd Team
Carly Sojka, OH, Central Missouri
Ashley Leitner, OH, Nebraska-Kearney
Haley Thompson, MH, Central Missouri
Paige Vanderpool, OH, Emporia State
Barbara Jackson, OH, Central Oklahoma
Erin Seele, S, Nebraska-Kearney
Tate Hardaker, L, Central Oklahoma
Kelsey Lewis, L, Washburn

3rd Team
Kayla Guyot, MH, Lindenwood
Madison Mosier, RS, Pittsburg State
Ellie Pesavento, MH, Nebraska-Kearney
Brooke Bartosh, RS, Northwest Missouri
Leanna Willer, OH, Washburn
Jordan Nedbalek, MH, Southwest Baptist
Hayley Hansford, S, Pittsburg State
Liz McGowan, L, Nebraska-Kearney

Honorable Mention
Central Missouri – Becca Blaise, RS; Maddie Jones, MH.
Central Oklahoma – Allison Barr, MH; Juliette Smith, MH.
Emporia State – Carly Spicer, MH; Courtney Haring, MH; Kelly Holden, L; Brianna Kaiser, OH; Katie Deutschmann, RS; McKenzie Pankratz, S.
Fort Hays State – Taylor Mares, RS; Makenzie Weinman, L; Jenna Ulrich, MH; Mallory Flagor, RS.
Lindenwood – Emma Brydels, S; Shannon Doyle, OH.
Missouri Southern – Katie Politte, OH.
Missouri Western – Kelsey Olion, RS; Amanda Boender, MH; Sarah Faubel, L.
Northwest Missouri – Abby Graves, OH; Mackie Keller, MH.
Pittsburg State – Paula Okrutna, MH; Jordan Rehm, L.
Southwest Baptist – Hannah Blount, L; Nikki Madoch, MH.
Washburn – Corrinne Stringer, OH; Sarah Vicory, MH.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 232674731 - wibw.com/a?a=232674731
Gray Television, Inc.