Emporia State Student-Athletes Earn D2ADA Academic Awards

By: ESU, posted by Kinch O'Kelley
By: ESU, posted by Kinch O'Kelley

August 22, 2013 - The Division II Athletics Directors Association (DII ADA) recently announced 51 Emporia State student-athletes have earned DII ADA Academic Achievement Awards. The Academic Achievement Award recognizes the academic accomplishments of student-athletes at the Division II level that maintain a 3.50 cumulative GPA in at least four semesters of college level work.

“We are very proud of the academic accomplishments of Emporia State student-athletes, and it is great to see them recognized nationally for their work in the classroom," said Emporia State Athletic Director Kent Weiser. "Receiving this recognition is a credit to our kids, and an indication of the amount of work they put into reaching their potential academically, athletically, and personally.”

Emporia State was one of seven MIAA schools with at least 50 honorees. Seventeen of the honored Hornets also earned All-MIAA honors led All-American and Ken B. Jones Award finalist Ben Carlson of the football team.

“The D2ADA would like to thank and congratulate the institutions that took part in honoring the record-number of 6,854 student-athletes with 2012-13 Academic Achievement Awards,” stated D2ADA President Anita Barker, director of athletics at Chico State University. “We continuously strive to recognize and honor deserving Division 2 student-athletes. This award gives us the platform to showcase these individuals and their efforts in the classroom, as well as on the playing field.”

Six of the Hornets that earned DII ADA Academic Achievement Awards were also named Capital One Academic All-District performers by CoSIDA. Ben Carlson, Alex Crowe, Kameron Neal, Paige Vanderpool, Donald Wilcox and Taylor Zordel were named Academic All-District with Carlson named Emporia State's 19th Academic All-American of the 21st century.

2012-13 D2ADA Academic Achievement Awards from Emporia State
Name Sport
Tyler Beebe Baseball
Zach Carlson Baseball
D.J. Lorenzen Baseball
Dalton Piecukonis Baseball
Andrew Polly Baseball
Aaron Rea Baseball
Todd Reller Baseball
Tyler Spencer Baseball
Shawn Talkington Baseball
Gavin Brown Men's Basketball
Paul Zimmerman Men's Track & Field/Cross Country
Kyle Downing Men's Track & Field
Donald Wilcox Men's Track & Field
Kameron Neal Football
Ashton Reichmann Football
Jordan Tice Football
Ben Carlson Football
Andrew Davids Men's Tennis
Laura Patrick Women's Basketball
Carly Spicer Volleyball/Women's Basketball
Desiree Wylie Women's Basketball
Jackie Jacobs Women's Track & Field/Cross Country
Tiffany Orth Women's Track & Field/Cross Country
Carolyn Wallace Women's Track & Field/Cross Country
Sara Dunkin Women's Track & Field
Alaina Fairbanks Women's Track & Field
Carmen King Women's Track & Field
Lindsey Kunkel Women's Track & Field
Haley Marchant Women's Track & Field
Ashley Parrott Women's Track & Field
Nicole Rottinghaus Women's Track & Field
Elizabeth Stover Women's Track & Field
Peyton Weiss Women's Track & Field
Lauren Sharp Softball
Tricia Vogel Softball
Allison Wood Softball
Taylor Zordel Softball
Mindi Lozenski Women's Soccer
Ashlyn Parker Women's Soccer
Mallory Walden Women's Soccer
Alex Crowe Women's Tennis
Jennifer Gerhardt Women's Tennis
Nicole Jara Women's Tennis
Tiffany Khounsombath Women's Tennis
Taylor Smith Women's Tennis
Katie Deutschmann Volleyball
Courtney Haring Volleyball
Raney Okeson Volleyball
Meg Schwartz Volleyball
Kaitlin Stearns Volleyball
Paige Vanderpool Volleyball

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 220718301 - wibw.com/a?a=220718301
Gray Television, Inc.