ESU's Jory Collins Named Regional Coach Of The Year

By: Emporia State Sports Information
By: Emporia State Sports Information

March 24, 2013-Emporia State Lady Hornets coach Jory Collins has been named the Russell Athletic/WBCA NCAA Division II Region 7 Coach of the Year. He is one of eight finalists for the inaugural Pat Summitt Trophy to be presented to the 2014 Russell Athletic/WBCA NCAA Division II National Coach of the Year.

Collins led the Lady Hornets to a 30-4 overall record, the fourth 30 win season in school history. Along the way the Lady Hornets won their second straight MIAA Tournament Championship in their fourth straight trip to the title game. Emporia State has gone to the regional championship in each of the last three seasons under Collins and he is the first coach in Emporia State and MIAA history to advance to four conference tournament and three regional tournament championship games in his first four years as a head coach.

The Emporia State graduate is 96-31 in his fourth year as the head coach of the Lady Hornets. He has 18 career wins against Top 25 teams with 11 wins in the last 13 match-ups. This was his 14th season on the Lady Hornet coaching staff and Emporia State has advanced to the NCAA tournament in 12 of those seasons. He has a 16-5 record in the postseason, going 10-2 in MIAA Tournament games and 6-3 in the NCAA Tournament.

"The WBCA congratulates these coaches on being named finalists for the Pat Summitt Trophy presented to the 2014 Russell Athletic/WBCA Division II National Coach of the Year," said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. "Each coach helped lead their team to outstanding seasons and was selected by their peers to be candidates for this honor. On behalf of the WBCA and its members, I wish all of these finalists the best of luck at the WBCA Awards show in Nashville."

Russell Athletic and the WBCA present the national coach of the year award annually in each of the six WBCA membership divisions (NCAA Divisions I, II and III; NAIA; junior/community college and high school). This is the 31st year since 1983 that the WBCA has presented this honor to an NCAA Division II head coach.

2013-14 Russell Athletic/WBCA NCAA Division II Regional Coaches of the Year
Region 1 – Barbara Stevens, Bentley University
Region 2 – Stan Swank, Edinboro University
Region 3 – Buffie Burson, University of North Georgia
Region 4 – Lisa Carlsen, Lewis University
Region 5 – LeAnn Freeland, Nova Southeastern University
Region 6 – Mark Kellogg, West Texas A&M University
Region 7 – Jory Collins, Emporia State University
Region 8 – Danelle Bishop, Cal. Poly - Pomona

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 252101881 -
Gray Television, Inc.