Will McNeill Named MIAA's Most Valuable Player

By: Washburn Sports Information (Posted by J.B. Bauersfeld)
By: Washburn Sports Information (Posted by J.B. Bauersfeld)

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- Washburn senior forward Will McNeill has became the fifth-different Ichabod to be voted as the MIAA's Most Valuable Player as the league's all-conference teams were announced on Monday. Overall the Ichabods have been awarded the MIAA's MVP seven times since joining the MIAA as two Ichabods won the award twice. McNeill joins Travis Robbins (2004-05), Ewan Auguste (1999-2000 and 2000-01), Dan Buie (1995-96 and 1996-97) and Malcom Daniels (1992-93) as the MIAA's Most Valuable Player. The Ichabods will open the MIAA Tournament on Thursday night at 8:15 p.m. against the winner of the Southwest Baptist and Central Oklahoma game will be played on Monday night.

McNeill was the only unanimous first team all-MIAA selection after finishing second in the MIAA in scoring at 19.5 ppg. Also honored from Washburn was Martin Mitchell as a third team all-MIAA pick. McNeill was also named to the MIAA's All-Defensive team for the third time in his Washburn career and Bobby Chipman was named to the defensive squad for the second time as well as to the all-MIAA honorable mention team for the second straight season.

McNeill was a unanimous first team all-MIAA pick as a junior as well. McNeill was also 14th in the MIAA in rebounding at 6.2 per game while leading the league with 3.1 steals per game. McNeill's 3.3 assists per game were tied for 11th in the conference. His 178 free throws made were second in the MIAA as were his 219 attempts giving him a .813 free throw percentage, which was 11th overall in the MIAA. McNeill ranked fifth in the MIAA in offensive rebounds at 2.5 per game and tied for fourth at 33.9 minutes per game played. Overall McNeill was ranked in eight different MIAA statistical rankings. He had the highest-scoring game in the MIAA this season with his career-high 40 points against Central Missouri last time out and tied for the MIAA's highwater mark with seven steals. McNeill became the 15th Ichabod to receive first team all-MIAA honors and only the third to accomplish it in two different seasons. Against Central Missouri last time out McNeill moved into third-place on the Washburn all-time scoring chart while breaking his own single-season steals record with 80 snapping last season's total of 76.

Mitchell was second on the Ichabods this season with 13.5 ppg adding 3.4 assists and 3.3 rebounds per game en route to third team all-MIAA honors. He was an honorable mention all-MIAA selection last season as a junior. Mitchell scored a career-high 32 points earlier this season against Missouri Western hitting seven 3-pointers against the Griffons. He finished 19th in the MIAA in scoring and 10th in the league in assists while finishing 11th in 3-pointers made at 2.0 per game. He also was seventh in the MIAA in assist to turnover ratio at 1.7.

Chipman was named for the second-straight season to the MIAA's All-Defensive team as well as honorable mention all-MIAA for the second straight season. He averaged 9.3 points and a team-high 7.8 rebounds per game. Chipman finished third in the MIAA in rebounds per game and was sixth in blocked shots at 1.3 per game. He was 10th in the MIAA in offensive rebounds per game at 2.2 and his 5.6 defensive rebounds per game were second in the league statistics. Chipman finished sixth in the MIAA in blocked shots at 1.3 per contest.

Men's All-MIAA Team

Will McNeill, Sr., G, WU

Marky Nolen, Sr., G, PSU

Craig Nicholson, G, FHSU

Mark Johnson, FHSU

Will McNeill, Sr., G, WU**[r1]
Dominique Long, Sr., F, UCM
Josh Gibbs, Jr., F, UCO
Dwayne Brunson, Jr., F, FHSU
Bryton Hobbs, Jr., G, NSU
**Unanimous Selection
[r1] - Repeat first team selection from last season

Jermaine Bransford, Sr., F, NSU
Alex Bazzell, Sr., G, LWU
Marquis Addison, Jr., G, MSSU
Craig Nicholson, Fr., G, FHSU
Cedric Ridle, Sr., G, LU

Mike Carlson, Sr, F, TSU
Dillon Starzl, Jr, F, NWMSU
JaVon McGee, Sr., C, PSU
Widgett Washington, Sr., G, UCM
Martin Mitchell, Sr., G, WU

Marky Nolan, Sr., G, PSU
Paul Bunch, Jr., C, ESU
Will McNeill, Sr., G, WU
Bobby Chipman, Sr., F, WU
Matt Wallace, So., G, NWMSU

Charles Hammork, Jr. G, UCM
Paul Bunch, Jr., C, ESU
Kaleb Wright, Jr., G, ESU
Chris Sights, Sr., G, ESU
Lance Russell, Sr., G, FHSU
Ben Conguista, Sr., G, FHSU
Jordan Talbert, Jr., F, MSSU
Cedric Clinkscales, Jr, F, MWSU
Adarius Fulton, Jr., G, MWSU
Jon Henderson, Sr., G, UNK
DeAngelo Hailey, Sr., G, NWMSU
Alex Sullivan, Sr., G, NWMSU
Kaleb Porter, Fr., G, PSU
Rico Pierrevillus, Sr., F, PSU
Damion Hooks, Jr., F, SBU
Preston Guiot, So., G, SBU
Seth Jackson, So., G, TSU
Tom Norton, Sr., G, TSU
Bobby Chipman, Sr., F, WU

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 195082601 - wibw.com/a?a=195082601
Gray Television, Inc.