Washburn's Kinderknecht Wins Co-MIAA POY Honor

By: MIAA Sports Information (posted by J.B. Bauersfeld)
By: MIAA Sports Information (posted by J.B. Bauersfeld)

Kansas City, Mo. – Washburn’s Laura Kinderknecht and Northeastern State’s Taylor Lewis earned Co-Player of the Year honors in the MIAA as announced today. Ron McHenry, who piloted Washburn to both an MIAA title and the tournament top seed, was named coach of the year.

Kinderknecht finished the regular season seventh in the MIAA in scoring , 10th in assists, ninth in three-point percentage and was third in three-pointers made. Lewis was second in the league in scoring, led the league in free-throw percentage and three-point field goals made.

Joining the two Players of the Year on the first team was Central Missouri guard Keuna Flax. Flax though not appearing in the league stats because she joined the team at semester, helped lead the Jennies to the tournament's second seed. Lizzy Jeronimus of Pittsburg State also earned first team honors as she led the league in scoring and was 10th in rebounding.

Kate Lehman not only earned first team All-MIAA honors, but was also named the Defensive Player of the Year finishing fourth in the league in rebounds and leading the league in blocked shots.

Brook Duncan of Southwest Baptist was named the MIAA Freshman of the Year. Duncan finished the regular season 14th in the league in blocked shots.

The MIAA Women’s Basketball Tournament is scheduled to tip-off on March 5 from campus sites.

Laura Kinderknecht, Sr., G, WU
Taylor Lewis, Sr., G, NSU

Kate Lehman, So., C, FHSU

Brook Duncan, G, SBU

Ron McHenry, WU

Taylor Lewis, Sr., G, NSU**
Keuna Flax, Jr., F, UCM**
Laura Kinderknecht, Sr., G, WU
Lizzy Jeronimus, So., F, PSU [r1]
Kate Lehman, So., C, FHSU
**Unanimous Selection
[r1] Repeat First Team Selection

Becka McHenry, Sr., G, TSU
Nicole Caddell, Sr., G, UCM
Rachel Hanf, Sr., G, ESU
Heather Howard, Sr., F, MWSU
Jacqui Zelenka, Jr., F, SBU

Lavonda McCall, Jr., G, WU
BreAnna Lewis, Jr., G, UCM
Laura Patrick, Jr., G, ESU
Katelyn Edwards, So., C, FHSU
Arriana Walker, Sr., G, LU

Kate Lehman, So., C, FHSU
Lavonda McCall, Jr., G, WU
Carrington Fox, Jr., F, NSU
Stormye Everett, Sr., F, WU
Jacqui Zelenka, Jr., F, SBU
Lauren Brown, Sr., C, PSU

Alyssa Fuxa, Sr., F, UCO
Merissa Quick, So., F, ESU
Freddie Sims, Sr., G, LU
Erin Rice, Sr., F, MSSU
Alicia Bell, Sr., G, MWSU
Tosha Tyler, Sr., G, NSU
Sarah Green, Sr., F, NSU
Annie Mathews, So., F, UCM
Maggie Marnin, Sr., C, NWMSU
Lauren Brown, Sr., C, PSU
Alexa Bordewick, Sr., G, PSU
Drew Roberts, Sr., G, PSU
Brittany Dukes, Sr., G, SBU
Allie Norton, So., G, TSU
Dana Elliott, Sr. G, WU


Washburn release:

Kinderknecht’s MVP selection highlights seven all-MIAA honors for Washburn

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Senior guard Laura Kinderknecht earned Washburn's second straight MIAA player of the year award as the all-conference teams were announced Tuesday by the MIAA office. Overall, Washburn won seven different MIAA honors.

Kinderknecht was named co-MVP as she shared the honor with Northeastern State's Taylor Lewis. Kinderknecht was also named to the all-MIAA first team.

Head coach Ron McHenry was named coach of the year for the fourth time in his career. Junior guard Lavonda McCall was named to the all-MIAA third team and senior forward Dana Elliott earned honorable mention. McCall and senior guard Stormye Everett were named to the all-defensive team.

These are the first all-MIAA awards for all four of the Lady Blues.

This is also the first year since 2004-05 that Washburn swept the men's and women's MIAA most valuable player award as Will McNeill earned the honor on the men's side for Washburn. Carla Sintra won the award for the women in 2004-05 and Travis Robbins won it for the men.

Volleyball player Jessica Fey also earned MIAA MVP this year to give Washburn three awards.

Kinderknecht is in the top 10 in six different MIAA categories. She's seventh in scoring with 14.3 points a game and third making 2.8 3-pointers a game. She's the second straight Lady Blue to earn MIAA MVP honor and seventh in school history. Ebonie Williams won the award last year for Washburn.

McHenry led Washburn to its second straight MIAA title and his Lady Blues are ranked fifth in the nation with a 22-4 record and 16-2 mark in the MIAA.

McCall is scoring 8.5 points a game and shooting 57 percent from the field, second best in the MIAA. She's third in the MIAA with
2.1 steals a game. Everett is second in the conference in steals and the two are helping Washburn produce one of the strongest defenses in the nation. The Lady Blues lead the conference and are fourth in the nation allowing just 51.2 points a game. They're first in the MIAA and sixth in the nation keeping opponents to a .331 field goal percentage.

Elliott is scoring 4.2 points a game with 4.2 rebounds and she's first on the team and fifth in the MIAA with 3.2 assists a game.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 195373321 - wibw.com/a?a=195373321
Gray Television, Inc.