Washburn's Fey Headlines MIAA Volleyball Honors

By: MIAA Sports Information (posted by J.B. Bauersfeld)
By: MIAA Sports Information (posted by J.B. Bauersfeld)

Kansas City, Mo. – Regular season league champion Nebraska-Kearney led the way with three members on the All-MIAA first team announced today. Truman placed two players on the top team and Washburn, Northwest Missouri and Central Missouri all had one member.

MIAA Player of the Year Jessica Fey of Washburn led the way as one of two unanimous selections to the first team, joined by Truman middle hitter Megan Sharpe. Fey is currently second in the league in hitting percentage and ranks fourth overall in kills per set. Sharpe is second in the MIAA in blocks, fourth in hitting percentage and seventh in kills. Also earning first team honors was Central Missouri middle hitter Bradye Peniston. Peniston is currently fifth in the league in kills and hitting percentage.

The tough middle for Nebraska-Kearny earned first team honors as both Katie Sokolowski and Ariel Krolikowski represent their team on the All-MIAA squad. Sokolowski leads the league in hitting percentage and Krolikowski is third in the league in kills. Their setter Jenna Rouzee who leads the MIAA in assists averaging 11.07 per set joins them.

Truman’s Allie Brak who currently leads the league in kills per set rounds out the hitters on the first team. Tori Beckman of Northwest Missouri who averaged 6.08 digs per set to lead the league is the teams libero.

The MIAA Freshman of the Year is Truman right side hitter Abby Heise and Nebraska-Kearney head coach Rick Squieres was named the Coach of the Year.

The semi-finals of the MIAA Tournament begin tonight at 5 p.m. as Central Missouri faces Washburn and conclude at 7 p.m. with Nebraska-Kearney hosting Emporia State.

Player of the Year: Jessica Fey, MH, Washburn
Freshman of the Year: Abby Heise, RS, Truman

Coach of the Year: Rick Squieres, Nebraska-Kearney

1st Team

Jessica Fey, MH, Washburn ^

Megan Sharpe, MH, Truman ^

Bradye Peniston, MH, Central Missouri

Katie Sokolowski, MH, Nebraska-Kearney

Ariel Krolikowski, MH, Nebraska-Kearney

Allie Brak, OH, Truman

Jenna Rouzee, S, Nebraska-Kearney

Tori Beckman, L, Northwest Missouri

^ = Unanimous Selection

2nd Team

Jessica Kopp, RS, Washburn

Hillary Hughes, OH, Washburn

Morgan Roy, OH, Central Oklahoma

Jenna Ulrich, MH, Fort Hays State

Paige Vanderpool, OH, Emporia State

Ellie Pesavento, MH, Nebraska-Kearney

Julia Bates, S, Central Missouri

Meghan Zimmerman, S, Truman

Meg Schwartz, L, Emporia State

Two setters due to tie in the voting

3rd Team

Brooke Bartosh, RS, Northwest Missouri

Carly Sojka, OH, Central Missouri

Liz McGowan, L/OH, Nebraska-Kearney

Taylor Goodness, MH, Central Missouri

Abby Heise, RS, Truman

Nicole Rockhold, OH, Pittsburg State

Abby Wittman, S, Washburn

Annie Reilly, L, Central Missouri

Honorable Mention

Central Oklahoma – Tate Hardaker, L.

Emporia State – Carly Spicer, MH; Courtney Haring, MH; Katie Deutschmann, RS/S; Brianna Kaiser, OH.

Fort Hays State – Makenzie Weinman, L; Taylor Mares, RS; Kayla Zoglman, S.

Lindenwood – Kayla Guyot, MH; Kaila Schrimpf, L.

Missouri Southern – Katie Politte, OH.

Missouri Western – Stephanie Hattey, RS/S; Jessica Thorup, RS.

Pittsburg State – Brooke Fay, MH; Crystal Whitten, OH.

Southwest Baptist – Jordan Nedbalek, MH; Carrie Johnson, OH/MH.

Truman – Abby Moser, L; Emily Briseno, MH, Ali Patterson, OH.

Washburn – Kelsey Lewis, OH, Merissa Cox, OH.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 179713541 - wibw.com/a?a=179713541
Gray Television, Inc.