Two Washburn Hoopers Earn All-MIAA Honors

By: Washburn University Sports, posted by Justin Surrency Email
By: Washburn University Sports, posted by Justin Surrency Email

KANSAS CITY, Mo. ( Washburn juniors Alex North and Kyle Wiggins have both been named to the all-MIAA basketball squad which was announced on Tuesday. North was a second team all-MIAA pick and Wiggins was an honorable mention all-MIAA selection.

North leads the Ichabods with a 15.9 ppg average and he is second in the MIAA with a 9.9 rebound per game average, which also leads the Ichabods. North also ranks 13th in the MIAA in field goal percentage hitting 135 of 259 shots for a 52 percent average and he is also 13th in the league in assists with 3.2 per game. His .451 3-point field goal percentage is fifth in the MIAA as well. He is also tied for third in the MIAA in minutes played per game at 34.3. This season North has recorded nine double doubles scoring a career-high 31 against Nebraska-karney on Feb. 8.

Wiggins ranks 21st in the MIAA in scoring at 14.6 per game and his 4.0 assists per game is eighth in the conference and he has recorded a 2-to-1 assist to turnover ratio this season which is 15th in the league. He leads the team with 105 assists overall. He scored a career-high 30 points against Newman on Nov. 23 and he had a career-high eight assists against Central Oklahoma on Feb. 13. He has reached double figure scoring in 23 games this season.

2013-14 Men's Basketball All-MIAA Teams

Player of the Year
DeShaun Cooper, Sr., G, NWMSU

Defensive Player of the Year
Paul Bunch, Sr., C, ESU

Freshman of the Year
Zach Schneider, Fr., F, NWMSU

Coach of the Year
Robert Corn, Missouri Southern

All-MIAA First Team
DeShaun Cooper, Sr., G, NWMSU**
Craig Nicholson, So., G, FHSU**
Josh Gibbs, Sr., F, UCO [r1]
Marquis Addison, Sr., G, MSSU
Dillon Deck, Jr., F/C, UCM
**Unanimous Selection
[r1] Repeat First Team Selection

All-MIAA Second Team
Bryton Hobbs, Sr., G, NSU
Dillon Starzl, Sr., C, NWMSU
Alex North, Jr., F, WU
Kaleb Wright, Sr., G, ESU
Dwayne Brunson, Sr., F, FHSU

All-MIAA Third Team
Devon Branch, Jr., G, PSU
Mike Dentlinger, Sr., C, UNK
Jordan Talbert, Sr., F, MSSU
Daylen Robinson, Sr., G, UCM
Connor Beranek, So., F, UNK

All-Defensive Team
Paul Bunch, Sr., C, ESU
Bryston Williams, Sr., G, NWMSU
Jordan Talbert, Sr., F, MSSU
Terrence Moore, So., G, ESU
Slim Magee, Sr., C, MSSU

Honorable Mention All-MIAA
Charles Hammork, Sr., G/F, UCM
Aaron Anderson, So., G, UCO
Paul Bunch, Sr., C, ESU
Terrence Moore, So., G, ESU
Carson Konrade, Sr., G, FHSU
Josh Buie, Jr., G, LU
Mike Smith, Jr., G, LU
Tyler Ressel, Sr., G, LWU
Darris Smith, Jr., G, LWU
Ethan Brozek, So., F, UNK
Conner Crooker, So, G, NWMSU
Bryston Williams, Sr., G, NWMSU
Slim Magee, Sr., C, MSSU
Ryan Devers, Jr., G, MWSU
DJ Barmore, Jr., F, SBU
Kyle Wiggins, Jr., G, WU

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 248436211 -
Gray Television, Inc.