K-State Student-Athletes Receive Degrees In Spring Commencement

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State University held its spring commencement exercises on Saturday and among those receiving degrees were 56 current or former Wildcat student-athletes.

Highlighting the 56 graduates on the weekend were 15 men’s and women’s track and field athletes, 13 members of the K-State football team, 11 rowers, six from the equestrian team, three members of the men’s and women’s golf teams, two each from men’s and women’s basketball and women’s tennis and also two from volleyball.

"One of the top priorities and goals of having a model intercollegiate athletics program is to provide our student-athletes with a world-class experience and the opportunity to earn their degree," said Jill Shields, Senior Associate Athletics Director for Student Services. "These individuals have displayed a tremendous amount of commitment and determination during their time at K-State and they are to be commended for this accomplishment."

K-State, which has led the Big 12 Conference in overall graduation rate in four of the past five seasons, has had another outstanding academic year in 2011-12. Tysyn Hartman was a Campbell Trophy Finalist and NFF National Scholar Athlete in 2011, while a combined 430 student-athletes were named to the Spring 2011 and Fall 2012 Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll.

K-State also was the lone Big 12 school and one of just five in the nation this year to advance to a bowl game and win games in the NCAA volleyball, men’s basketball and women’s basketball tournaments.

Spring 2012 Graduates

Track and Field (15)

Chelsie Bonds

Cory Boulanger

Edina Brooks

Moritz Cleve

Fransico Colomar

Armando Del Valle

Rok Derzanic

Kimberly Haberman

Jeffrey Julmis

Martynas Jurgilas

Ryann Krais

Jacqueline Leffler

Sydney Messick

Mantas Silkauskas

Tiara Walpool

Football (13)

Jordan Allred

Arthur Brown

Anthony Cantele

Arrison Davis

Ryan Doerr

Logan Dold

Manase Foketi

Ray Kibble

Jarard Milo

Matthew Pearson

Justin Tuggle

Braden Wilson

Payton Kirk

Rowing (11)

Nicole Burdiek

Weatherly Butler

Marissa Campbell

Whitley Jackson

Brittany Leathers

Adria Ley

Ali Peters

Traci Smiley

Amanda Weishaar

Hanna Wiltfong

Anna Young

Equestrian (6)

Marlana Berkow

Melanie Hizpeter

Erica Mackiewicz

Alayna Warner

Paige Ryan

Soffia Farrall Da Cruz

Golf (3)

Elise Houtz

Kyle Smell

Ami Storey

Men’s Basketball (2)

Victor Ojeleye

Jamar Samuels

Women’s Basketball (2)

Branshea Brown

Emma Ostermann

Women’s Tennis (2)

Petra Chuda

Antea Huljev

Volleyball (2)

JuliAnne Chisholm

Ashley Kelican

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 151258745 - wibw.com/a?a=151258745
Gray Television, Inc.