Former Chief Shields Named Man Of The Year

Former Kansas City Chiefs 12-time Pro Bowl G Will Shields has been named the Walter Camp Football Foundation's 2010 Man of the Year. The honor is presented to an individual who has been closely associated with the game of football and who has enjoyed great success both on and off the field. He joins an esteemed list of former Man of the Year winners, including QB Roger Staubach, RB Gale Sayers, LB Dick Butkus, K Morten Andersen and last year's recipient QB John Elway. Shields will be honored on January 15, 2011 in New Haven, Connecticut.

“On behalf of my family and the entire Chiefs organization, we congratulate Will on receiving this prestigious honor,” Chiefs Chairman and CEO Clark Hunt said. “We are very proud of Will’s hall-of-fame achievements during his 14-year NFL playing career – all of which were with the Chiefs – but we are just as proud of the character and integrity with which he continues to conduct himself off the field. It is a tremendous honor, and Will is a deserving recipient.”

Unquestionably one of the top ironmen in Chiefs history, Shields started a franchise-record 223 consecutive games, earning 12 Pro Bowl appearances. He paved the way for five different Pro Bowl running backs in his 14-year tenure with the Chiefs. The 2003 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award winner, Shields continues to serve as a valuable member to the Kansas City community with his family touching countless organizations through the “Will to Succeed Foundation.” Since its inception in ’93, his foundation has developed a number of innovative programs that have benefited more than 100,000 individuals.

The Lawton, Oklahoma native was selected by the Chiefs in the third round (74th overall) of the 1993 NFL Draft and played collegiately at the University of Nebraska. Shields as well as all of the major award winners and members of the 2010 Walter Camp All-America team will be honored at the organization's 44th annual national awards banquet at the Yale University Commons. Interested parties may call (203) 288-2267 for more information on the banquet.

Walter Camp, "The Father of American football," first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team and honoring deserving individuals.

Walter Camp Football Foundation Man of the Year Recipients

2010 - Will Shields, Nebraska

2009 - John Elway, Stanford

2008 - Morten Andersen, Michigan State

2007- Dick Butkus, University of Illinois

2006 - Mike Utley, Washington State

2005 - Dwight Stephenson, Alabama

2004 - Anthony Munoz, Southern California

2003 - Ozzie Newsome, Alabama

2002 - Jim Kelly, Miami (Fla.)

2001 - Mike Singletary, Baylor

2000 - Howie Long, Villanova

1999 - Gil Brandt, Dallas Cowboys

1998 - Lou Holtz, Kent State University

1997 - Calvin Hill, Yale

1996 - Lynn Swann, Southern California

1995 - Reggie Williams, Dartmouth

1994 - Dick Anderson, Colorado

1993 - Warren Moon, Washington

1992 - Bob Griese, Purdue

1991 - Mel Blount, Southern

1990 - Nick Buoniconti, Notre Dame

1989 - Paul Brown, Miami (Ohio)

1988 - Andy Robustelli, Arnold

1987 - Levi Jackson, Yale

1986 - Willie Davis, Grambling

1985 - Ricky Bleier, Notre Dame

1984 - Don Shula, John Carroll

1983 - Roger Staubach, Navy

1982 - Merlin Olsen, Utah State

1981 - Otto Graham, Northwestern

1980 - Gale Sayers, Kansas

1979 - Jack Kemp, Occidental

1978 - Floyd Little, Syracuse

1977 - Fred Dunlap, Colgate

1976 - Edward Krause, Notre Dame

1975 - Pete Dawkins, Army

1974 - Jake Gaither, Knoxville College/Florida A&M

1973 - Duffy Daugherty, Syracuse/Michigan State

1972 - Clinton Frank, Yale

1971 - Doc Blanchard, Army

1970 - Harry Kipke, Michigan

1969 - Pete Rozelle, San Francisco

1968 - Ted Blair, Yale

1967 - Hamilton Fish, Harvard

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 111500999 -
Gray Television, Inc.