Emporia State's Eckenrode Regional Finalist For Harlon Hill Trophy

By: ESU, posted by Kinch O'Kelley
By: ESU, posted by Kinch O'Kelley
Emporia State record setting quarterback Tyler Eckenrode is among 24 candidates nationwide for the Harlon Hill Trophy as the NCAA Division II College Football Player of the Year.

ESU Football Vs Ft. Hays State

November 9, 2012- Emporia State record setting quarterback Tyler Eckenrode is among 24 candidates nationwide for the Harlon Hill Trophy as the NCAA Division II College Football Player of the Year. He has led the Hornets to an 8-2 record heading into the final regular season game, an improvement of three wins over last season.

Eckenrode, a senior from Houston, Texas holds seven Emporia State single season and career records. He is 586 of 1,016 for 7,364 yards and 51 touchdowns through the air and has 7,957 yards of total offense in his career - all Hornet records. He has the Emporia State single season record in passing yards with 3,075 and total offense record with 3,237 yards. He needs five touchdown passes to tie Joe Jacobs school record of 25 set in 1999. He is tenth on the MIAA career passing yards list, one yard behind Northwest Missouri's Josh Lamberson for ninth and 93 yards behind the Bearcats Chris Greisen for eighth.

He is leading the MIAA in total offense and passing yards and is ranked tenth in the nation in passing yards and 11th in total offense. Eckenrode has an MIAA high five games with at least 300 yards passing, including two games with over 400 yards. He has connected with 12 different Hornets for completions of at least ten yards on the season with touchdown passes to six different players. He is one of only three quarterbacks in the nation with at least 3,000 yards passing and 150 yards rushing.

Players are nominated and voted on by the sports information directors at the 168 NCAA Division II football-playing institutions. The 24 initial candidates will be placed on regional ballots and the top two players from each of the four NCAA regions will advance to the national ballot when regional voting concludes on November 17.

Eckenrode is looking to become the second Hornet to win the Harlon Hill Trophy. Emporia State's Brian Shay won the 1998 Harlon Hill Trophy with 88 first-place votes, 303 total points and appeared on 110 of the 115 ballots cast, shattering the previous records in all three categories.

The winner of the 2012 award, which is presented by the National Harlon Hill Award Committee, will be announced at the 27th annual Harlon Hill Trophy Presentation Banquet on Friday, December 14 at the Florence Conference Center at 6:30 p.m., the night before the national championship game.

"E" is for Eckenrode
ESU Career Records
Touchdown Passes 51
Passing Yards 7,364
Total Offense 7,957
Completions 586
Attempts 1,016
ESU Single Season Records
Total Offense 3,237
Passing Yards 3,075

MIAA Career Passing
1. Eric Czerniewski, UCM 2006-10 12,847
2. Dane Simoneau, WU 2008-11 11,291
3. Drew Newhart, MWSU 2007-10 10,691
4. Kasey Waterman, MWSU 1998-2001 10,025
5. Eric Howe, TSU 1998-2001 9,097
6. Adam Hinspeter, MSSU 2005-2008 9,016
7. Blake Bolles, NWMSU, 2007-2010 8,668
8. Chris Greisen, NWMSU 1995-98 7,457
9. Josh Lamberson, NWMSU 2002-05 7,365
10. Tyler Eckenrode, ESU 2009- 7,364

Super Region 3 Harlon Hill Candidates
John Brown, WR,JR, Pittsburg State
Tyler Eckenrode, QB, SR, Emporia State
Michael Hill, RB, SR, Missouri Western
Phillip Klaphake, QB, JR, St. Cloud State
Kevin Rodgers, QB, SO, Henderson State
Rayon Simmons, RB, SR, Winona State

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 178172681 - wibw.com/a?a=178172681
Gray Television, Inc.