Topeka West to Induct Six Former Topeka West Athletes

On Thursday, September 13, 2007, Topeka West will induct six former Topeka West athletes, one coach, and one team into the Topeka West Sport’s Hall of Fame. Those chosen for induction in 2007 are:

DALE CARVER - - Graduated in 1972. Three-year letterman in swimming. Swim team captain in 1971-72. State finalist all three years of high school, with a top 3 finish every year. State champion in the 200 IM and the 100 Free in the state meet in 1972, and a state record holder at the time. Was a four-year letterman of the University of Kansas swim teams that were Big 8 Conference Champions in 1973, 1974, and 1975. Served as a swim coach for many years in Salina, Overland Park, and Olathe, and also served as a volunteer soccer coach for several years. Management associate for the catalog division of J.C. Penney Co., Inc. for 27 years. Currently a management associate for Garmin International in Olathe.

JOHN DICUS AND JEFF GRIGGS - - Graduated in 1979. Paired as a doubles team in 1978 for the first time and won the Class 4A state doubles title with a final record of 28-1, becoming the first state gold medalists in tennis for Topeka West. Class 6A state 3rd place finishers in 1979 with a record of 31-2. Both John and Jeff attended the University of Kansas after graduation, and reside in Topeka. Jeff is a self-employed businessman, and John is the president and CEO of Capitol Federal Savings Bank.

JEFF SHELAR - - Graduated in 1984. Lettered in track for four years and cross country for three years. Class 6A state champion in the 800 meters and 1600 meters in 1984, helping lead the Chargers to back to back state team titles in 1983 and 1984. Third place finisher in the state cross country meet, and regional champion in 1984. First team All-American at Barton County in 1984 and 1985, earning five conference championships. Third in the Steeplechase at the 1987 Big Eight Championships for Kansas State University. Personal bests of 4:08 in the mile and 1:48.78 in the half mile. Lived in Noasara,
Costa Rica, and Cabo San Lucas, Mexico, in the mid-90’s, and became big-game fishing captain. Owner of Catch ‘Em All Sportfishing Charters in Marathon, Florida, in the Florida Keys, where he also is involved in the Fishing for Kids community program.

MARK JOHNSON - -Graduated in 1988. Lettered in football (3) and basketball (3). Football All-City, All I-70 League, and All-State as a senior. Honored as the city player of the week seven times, and named city player of the year in 1987. Basketball All I-70 League, and third team All-City as a senior. Played football at Washburn University. Currently a mortgage portfolio professional in Castle Rock, Colorado, and is active and coaching in community youth sports programs.

KELLI (DUDLEY) TESON - - Graduated in 1999. Four-year letter-winner in swimming. Four-year State Championship meet qualifier. Qualified for the state meet in every swimming event in her senior year. Placed 2nd in 1998 and 1999, and 3rd in 1997, in the 200-yard IM. Was a member of the state champion 200-yard Medley Relay in 1996 and 1997. Had top four finishes in the state in the 100 Butterfly, 100 Breaststroke, and 500 Freestyle during her career, helping Topeka West to 3rd and 5th place team finishes in 1996 and 1997. Helped lead Truman State to three straight NCAA Division II national team championships from 2001-2003, winning individual national titles in the 200 Backstroke in 2000, the 100 Backstroke in 2001, and the 400 IM and 200 Backstroke in 2003. Held six national titles, four school records, and was a 23-time All-American in her four-year college career. Received a Master’s Degree from Kansas University in 2006, and currently lives in Kansas City, Missouri.

MIKE GOEHRING - - Coached girls’ basketball from 1982-2002. Overall record of 310-139 (69%). Led Lady Chargers to nine league championships, nine state tournament appearances, one state runner-up, and two state championships. 1999 Lady Chargers finished the year as undefeated Class 6A State Champions with a 25-0 record. 2000 Lady Chargers were Class 5A State Champions with a 22-3 record. Coached 52 All-League, 24 All-City, five All-State, and three All-American players. Named as the KBCA, AP, the National Federation, and Topeka Capital Journal State Coach of the Year in 1994, and again in 2000 by Capital Journal. Inducted into the Kansas Basketball Coaches Hall of Fame in 2006. Bachelor’s Degree from Kansas State in 1970, and Master’s Degree from Kansas State in 1977. Currently enjoying retirement after 36 years of teaching in St. George, Silver Lake, and Topeka.

CROSS COUNTRY TEAM OF 1985-86 - - Class 6A State Champions with a record of 72-1. Only loss was to Junction City in the league meet, but avenged that defeat at State. Runners went 1-2-3-4-7-10 in winning the city meet, with Rick Boyle as city champ, and placed three in the first five in the Regionals. Many of these runners were part of the 1984 team that also was 72-1 and finished 2nd in State, and/or the 1986 2nd place State team that went 77-1, compiling a three-year record 221-3. Coached by Joe Schrag, and assisted by Earl Williams, the squad members were: Chet Laughlin, Troy Obermeier, Rick Boyle, Randy Dyck, Steve Hays, Danny Hays, Bret Holmes, Efram Johnson, David Lindstrom, Chris Sieffert, David Smith, Paul Spurgeon, Brad Wolgast, David Young, Steven Christman, Jeff Eslinger,
Ron Hardin, Mark Haub, Scott Kleinschmidt, Steve Mapes, Greg Marett, Mark Reedy, Myles Schrag, David Young, Brit Beelman, Jon Hays, Keith Nicholson, and Alan Reynolds.

On September 13, there will be a reception in the Topeka West cafeteria for the above inductees at 6:00 p.m. At 7:30 p.m., the induction ceremonies will be held in the Topeka West auditorium. Admission is free to both of these events. On Friday, September 14, the inductees will be introduced at the Homecoming Day football game.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 9623937 -
Gray Television, Inc.