Emporia State Returns Veteran Linebackes

By: From: ESU
By: From: ESU

Four linebackers that had at least ten tackles last season return for the Hornets. Senior Matt Demicoli (Mulvane, Kan.) has been ESU’s second leading tackler the last two years, but has missed all of training camp with a hamstring injury. Junior A.J. Brinkman (Parsons, Kan.) missed four games in the middle of last season and still ended with 13 tackles, including ten unassisted. Junior Mike LoPorto (Blue Springs, Mo.) played in all 11 games as a sophomore. Junior John Waechter (Olpe, Kan.) was a mainstay on special teams last season for the Hornets. Sophomore Marcus Mead (Alva, Okla.) transfers to ESU from Baylor University. Freshmen Nathan Linsey (Lebo, Kan.), Zac Traphagan (Harveyville, Kan.), Andrew Weese (Salina, Kan.), and David Diener (Salina, Kan.) all redshirted last season for ESU. The newcomers at linebacker for the Hornets are freshmen Ryan Heil (Overland Park, Kan.), Braxton Owens (Muskogee, Okla.), Chuck Thompson (Omaha, Neb.), and James Jones (Dallas, Texas).

4 Marcus Mead LB 6’2 233 So.-TR Alva, Okla.
18 Matt Demicoli LB 6’0 212 Sr.-2L Mulvane, Kan.
23 Nathan Linsey LB 6’0 216 Fr.-RS Lebo, Kan.
31 Ryan Heil LB 5’11 190 Fr.-HS Overland Park, Kan.
45 Zac Traphagan LB 6’1 200 Fr.-RS Harveyville, Kan.
47 Andrew Weese LB 5’11 215 Fr.-RS Salina, Kan.
48 John Waechter LB 5’10 220 Jr.-1L Olpe, Kan.
49 Braxton Owens LB 6’0 245 Fr.-HS Muskogee, Okla.
50 Chuck Thompson LB 6’2 225 Fr.-HS Omaha, Neb.
52 David Diener LB 5’8 207 Fr.-RS Salina, Kan.
53 James Jones LB 6’0 185 Fr.-HS Dallas, Texas
54 Mike LoPorto LB 6’0 226 Jr.-2L Blue Springs, Mo.
55 A.J. Brinkman LB 6’0 244 Jr.-2L Parsons, Kan.
91 Greg Henderson LB 5’10 210 Fr.-HS Belton, Mo.
Chris Anderson LB 5'9 165 Fr.-HS Kansas City, Mo.
*These players are scheduled to be at the interviews.

Today’s interviews will be held outside the Lakeview Cafeteria in the ESU Memorial Union beginning at 1:00 p.m.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 9128961 - wibw.com/a?a=9128961
Gray Television, Inc.