Still, Bowers, Jr. and Covert Take Wins at HPT Dirt Track


TOPEKA, Kan. (July 23, 2007) –Shaun Still, Steven Bowers, Jr, and Kyle Covert all took wins in their divisions during the “Think Green” Waste Management Dirt Race Series at Heartland Park Topeka on Sunday.

Covert has become a repeat winner, taking the checkered flag for the fifth time in six races in the Factory Stock division, defeating Eric Weyer and James King for the first place trophy

Shaun Still took home the championship in the Hobby Stock division, defeating Shane Wettengel and Rodney Michael.

In the Modified feature Sunday evening, Steven Bowers, Jr, crossed the finish line first to defeat Justin Boney and Lyle Shepard to take the checkered flag.

Racers will be back on the Heartland Park Topeka track Sunday, July 29 along with the TORA Topless Late Models during the Armed Forces Appreciation Race. Spectator gates open at 5pm, hot laps will be at 6pm, races start at 7pm.


Hobby Stock Feature
1) Shaun Still, Topeka, 2)Shane Wettengel, Topeka, 3) Rodney Michael, Baldwin City, 4) Brian Stich, Topeka 5) Kelby Ostrander, Winchester, 6) Larry Lincoln, Jr, Topeka, 7) J C Holt, Topeka, 8) Eric Loquist, Osage City, 9) Julie Buckridge, Emporia, 10) John Bass, Topeka, 11) Jeff Grimm, Hiawatha, 12) Robert St. Clair, 13) Jay Bailey, Osage City, 14) Dave Catrell, Hiawatha, 15) Brian Slaton,Topeka,

Factory Stock Feature
1) Kyle Covert, Topeka, 2) Eric Weyer, Centralia, 3) James King, Americus, 4) Justin McGilton, Topeka, 5)Scott Stuart, Independence, 6) Mike McCleary, Linwood, 7) Paul Lanferman, Atchison, 8) David Samuels, Topeka, 9)Brent Alverson, Centralia, 10) Ben Domann, Winchester, 11) Josh Henery, Topeka, 12) Luke Nieman, Winchester, 13) Shane Wettengel, Topeka, 14) Lance Lincln, Topeka, 15) Josh Stevenson, Emporia, 16) Chad Domann, Winchester, 17) Steve Herrick, Topeka, 18) Jr. Lowrey, Topeka, 19) Gerald Wahwahsuck, Hiawatha, 20) Troy Baumgartner, Lecompton, 21) Toby Teel, Hiawatha.

Modified “A” Feature
1) Steven Bowers, Jr, Topeka, 2) Justin Boney, Leavenworth, 3) Lyle Shepard, Manhattan, 4) Dennie Giebar, Dwight, 5) Tim Kerrick, Basehor, 6) Lucas Conley, Spring Hill, 7) Allen Henery, Emporia, 8) Todd Wichman, St. Marys, 9) Danny Holt, Topeka, 10) Kyle Stallbaumer, Tecumseh, 11) Travis Tenpenny, Topeka, 12) Allen Halderman, Topeka, 13) Tim Prochnow, Pomona, 14) Nick Newton, Kansas City, Kan., 15) Craig Wood, Eldorado Springs, 16) Luke Driskell, 17) Jim Hernandez, Topeka, 18) Tom Grist, Topeka, 19) John Allen, Chanute, 20) Matt Stallbaumer, Tecumseh, 21) Ryan Wentworth, Humboldt, 22) Brian Rigsby, Topeka, 23) Eric Loquist, Topeka, 24 ) Justin Becker, Holton, 25) Matt Corpstein, Easton.

Heartland Park Topeka, a multi-purpose racing facility located in Topeka, Kan. annually hosts NHRA POWERade drag racing, the Sports Car Club of America (SCCA), and many other pro and amateur drag racing, road racing, and dirt racing events throughout the race season.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 8671502 -
Gray Television, Inc.