Contestant List Announced for Abilene Hosted Rodeo

By: From: Wild Bill Hickok Rodeo
By: From: Wild Bill Hickok Rodeo


Abilene, Kans. Entries have closed for the 2007 Wild Bill Hickok Rodeo, and 533 cowboys and cowgirls are making travel plans to come to Abilene on August 1-2-3-4, 2007.

Once again, world champions, both current and past, will be in town to compete, along with many National Finals Rodeo qualifiers. Fans will see the best rodeo cowboys and cowgirls going down the road today.

Five of the current 8 world champions have entered the Abilene rodeo. They include the 2006 All Around Cowboy, Trevor Brazile, Tie Down Roping Champion Cody Ohl, Team Roping Champion Heeler Allen Bach, Barrel Racing Champion Mary Burger, and Bull Riding Champion BJ Schumacher.

Past world champions who have entered Wild Bill Hickok Rodeo include: bareback rider Marvin Garrett, team ropers Allen Bach, Clay O’Brien Cooper, Rich Skelton, Clay Tryan, Speed Williams, Jake Barnes and Walt Woodard, tie down roper Fred Whitfield, saddle bronc riders Billy Etbauer, Tom Reeves and Jeff Willert, steer wrestler Mickey Gee, all-around cowboys Trevor Brazile and Ryan Jarrett, and barrel racer Mary Burger.

Within the 533 contestants there are a combined 61 world championships and 315 National Finals Rodeo qualifiers.

Keep in mind that even though these contestants have entered, they may draw out due to injury or other reasons. And many of the timed event contestants will compete during slack, so you may not see them during a performance. Slack is open to the public and begins at 8 am on August 1.

Many of the cowboys and cowgirls in the top 20 in the world standings, as of July 16, 2007, will compete in Abilene. They are listed by event below:

Bareback riding

10 – Chris Harris, Itasca, TX

Saddle bronc riding

3 – Taos Muncy, Corona, NM

5 – Billy Etbauer, Edmond, OK

11 – Mike Outhier, Utopia, TX

Bull riding

1 – BJ Schumacher, Hillsboro, WI (2006 World Champion)

7 - Howdy Cloud, Kountze, TX

8 – Jarrod Craig, Hillsboro, TX

11 – Bryan Richardson, Dallas, TX

12 – Cooper Kanngiesser, Zenda, KS

13 – Richard Echols, Frierson, LA

16 – Colin McTaggart, Brentwood, CA

17 – Brad Pierce, Snyder, TX

18 – Clint Craig, Mena, AR

19 – Fred Boettcher, Rice Lake, WI

Tie Down Roping

1 – Trevor Brazile, Decatur, TX

2 – Houston Hutton, Del Rio, TX

4 – Cody Ohl, Hico, TX (2006 World Champion)

6 – Blair Burk, Durant, OK

12 – Doug Pharr, Victoria, TX

15 – Scott Kormos, Teague, TX

16 – Cody James, Monticello, AR

17 – Blake Huckabee, Shreveport, LA

19 – Cade Swor, Chico, TX

20 – Jerome Schneeberger, Ponca City, OK

Steer wrestling

1 – Jule Hazen, Protection, KS

10 – Levi Wisness, Keene, ND

16 – Hunter Cure, Holliday, TX

17 – Casey Martin, Sulphur, LA

19 – Jon Ragatz, Cassville, WI

20 – Cash Myers, Athens, TX

Team roping – header

1 – Speed Williams, De Leon, TX

3 – Chad Masters, Clarksville, TN

4 – Jimmy Edens, Gatesville, TX

7 – Tommy Edens, Gatesville, TX

9 – Clay Tryan, Billings, MT

10 – Jake Barnes, Scottsdale, AZ

11 – David Key, Caldwell, TX

12 – Shain Sproul, Benson, AZ

15 – Jake Cooper, Monument, NM

17 – Turtle Powell, Alpine, TX

18 – Coleman Proctor, Miami, OK

19 – Logan Olson, Flandreau, SD

Team roping – heeler

1 – Dean Tuftin, Prineville, OR

6 – Allen Bach, Weatherford, TX (2006 World Champion)

7 – Coby Jones, Gatesville, TX

8 – Clay O’Brien Cooper, Morgan Mill, TX

9 – Kory Koontz, Sudan, TX

10 – Rich Skelton, Llano, TX

11 – Walt Woodard, Stockton, CA

13 – Jimmie Cooper, Monument, NM

16 – Jake Long, Pawhuska, OK

17 – Britt Bockius, Claremore, OK

18 – Patrick Smith, Midland, TX

19 – Kinney Harrell, San Angelo, TX

20 – Travis Graves, Jay, OK

Barrel Racing

1 – Brittany Pozzi-Pharr, Victoria, TX

4 – Terra Bynum, Colorado City, TX

11 – Layna Kight, Ocala, FL

14 – Sherry Cervi, Marana, AZ

18 – Tammy Key-Fischer, Ledbetter, TX

20 – Maegan Reichert, Mt Pleasant, TX


1 – Trevor Brazile, Decatur, TX (2006 World Champion)

3 – Blair Burk, Durant, OK

4 – Cash Myers, Athens, TX

11 – Rich Skelton, Llano, TX

Contestant Notes:

Tie down roper Fred Whitfield, because of injuries, has not been in the top 15 world standings all year. But the Calgary Stampede cut him a big check earlier this month, as he was the $100,000 bonus winner. None of that money, however, will count towards the PRCA standings, as the Calgary Stampede is not sanctioned by the PRCA.

Retired World Champion saddle bronc rider Tom Reeves will break out his saddle and spurs again in Phillipsburg. Reeves is the rodeo coach at Ranger College in Texas, and he promised his team that if they won the national team title at the College National Finals Rodeo, he would enter a few PRCA rodeos with team members. The men’s team won the title, and Reeves is keeping his promise. He will travel with Ranger College students Chase Miller, Cooper McBride, and Steven Dent to compete in Abilene.

Fan favorite Billy Etbauer, currently #5 in the saddle bronc riding, broke his ankle at the Pikes Peak or Bust rodeo on July 11. After outpatient surgery to put in 2 screws, he hopes to be back in the arena the first weekend of August.

The #1 barrel racer in the world, Brittany Pozzi-Pharr, was the third money winner during this year’s lucrative Cowboy Christmas. The days prior to and following the July 4th holiday have been called Cowboy Christmas because of the high number of rodeos taking place. Pozzi-Pharr won $26,933 at 6 rodeos.

Kansas cowboy Jule Hazen vaulted into the #1 position in the steer wrestling early this year after a $50,000 win in San Antonio. The win has guaranteed him a spot in the National Finals Rodeo in December, his first trip there as a contestant.

Five time Linderman Award winner Kyle Whitaker will also compete in Abilene. The Linderman Award is presented to a cowboy who competes in both timed and roughstock events and wins at least $1,000 in three different events. No one else has ever won the Linderman Award that many times.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 8650061 -
Gray Television, Inc.