Pair of Wildcats Named to Big 12 Pre-Season team

By: From: KSU Sports Information
By: From: KSU Sports Information

IRVING, Texas – Kansas State defensive standouts Ian Campbell and Marcus Watts have been named to the 2007 Preseason All-Big 12 team, according to the results of the annual preseason media survey conducted by the conference office.

Campbell, a preseason All-America and national award candidate, is coming off an incredible sophomore campaign and is one of just four returning players nationally to record at least 11.5 sacks and 17.5 tackles for losses in 2006.

Last season, Campbell was among the nation’s top pass rushers and earned All-Big 12 and All-American honors after totaling 67 tackles, 17.5 for losses, with 11.5 sacks. His 11.5 sacks tied the Kansas State single-season record and ranked second in the Big 12 Conference and 10th nationally. Campbell, a Cimarron native, collected at least one sack in nine of 13 total games last season.

Watts, a 2006 All-Big 12 performer, played in the first eight games at safety last season, starting four, before an injury sidelined him for the remainder of the regular season. The ESPN All-Mayday selection still managed to have enough of an impact to earn second team All-Big 12 honors from both the league’s coaches and the Kansas City Star after finishing the season with 26 tackles, including three tackles for losses and two sacks. The Hays native led the Wildcats with three interceptions, forced two fumbles and blocked a punt that was returned for a touchdown.

In the preseason specialty awards, Colt McCoy (Texas) was named Preseason Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year, Reggie Smith (Oklahoma) was selected Preseason Defensive Player of the Year and Sam Keller (Nebraska) was chosen Preseason Newcomer of the Year.

Kansas State will participate in the annual Big 12 Football Media Days on Wednesday, July 25, in San Antonio, Texas, before opening the 2007 season Sept. 1 in a nationally-televised contest at Auburn.

2007 Preseason All-Big 12 Football Team (Media Vote)

Offensive Player of the Year: Colt McCoy, QB, Texas

Defensive Player of the Year: Reggie Smith, DB, Oklahoma

Newcomer of the Year: Sam Keller, QB, Nebraska


WR Adarius Bowman, Oklahoma State

TE Martin Rucker, Missouri

OL Tony Hills, Texas

OL Duke Robinson, Oklahoma

C Cody Wallace, Texas A&M

OL Matt Slauson, Nebraska

OL Anthony Collins, Kansas

WR Limas Sweed, Texas

QB Colt McCoy, Texas

RB Jamaal Charles, Texas

RB Mike Goodson, Texas A&M

PK Garrett Hartley, Oklahoma

KR Perrish Cox, Oklahoma State


DL Ian Campbell, Kansas State

DL Frank Okam, Texas

DL Chris Harrington, Texas A&M

DL James McClinton, Kansas

DL Derek Lokey, Texas

LB Bo Ruud, Nebraska

LB Alvin Bowen, Iowa State

LB Jordon Dizon, Colorado

DB Reggie Smith, Oklahoma

DB Aqib Talib, Kansas

DB Marcus Watts, Kansas State

DB Marcus Griffin, Texas

P Matt Fodge, Oklahoma State

PR Reggie Smith, Oklahoma

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 8628912 -
Gray Television, Inc.