New Scholorship Assistance For ESU Softball

EMPORIA, KAN. (July 18, 2007)--The nationally ranked Emporia State
softball program will benefit from a new scholarship program being
established by the Emporia chapter of the American Association of
University Women (AAUW). In the first year, the program will assist six
Hornet softball players ranging from incoming freshmen to a degree
completion for a two-time All-American.

*Emporia State has a long and storied history of success in women*s
athletics and the American Association of University Women is excited to
be able to help young women continue their athletic and educational
endeavors,* said AAUW Emporia chapter president Janet Hesterman.
*The mission of the AAUW is to help deserving young women and we
feel this scholarship program accomplishes that.*

The players selected by the officers of the Emporia AAUW chapter to
receive the AAUW Scholarship assistance in 2007-08 are former
All-American Megan Davison, sophomore Miranda Campbell, junior transfer
Jill Peters and freshmen Angela Mahan, Nicole Bergley, Brittany Norris.
Davison is a member of the MIAA Commissioner*s Academic Honor Roll.
Campbell was named Academic All-MIAA. Peters was an NJCAA Academic
All-American while the three freshmen enter ESU with a combined GPA of

*Our goal is to put a quality product on the field, in the classroom
and in the community,* said ESU softball coach Kristi Bredbenner.
*This scholarship program will help us continue to allow deserving
young ladies to graduate while competing at a national level.*

The mission of the AAUW is to advance equality for women and girls
through advocacy, education and research. The Emporia chapter of the
AAUW has been active since 1922. Membership is extended to women and
men who hold an associate*s degree or higher from an accredited
college or university. Students currently enrolled in college may join
as affiliate members. For more information on AAUW, contact Janet
Hesterman at (620) 528-3273.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 8580092 -
Gray Television, Inc.