K-State’s Ian Campbell Named to Bednarik Award Watch List

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State defensive end/outside linebacker Ian
Campbell is among eight Big 12 defenders on the 2007 Chuck Bednarik
Award Watch List, the Maxwell Football Club announced Monday. The
Bednarik Award is presented annually to the nation’s top defensive
player as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show in

Campbell, a native of Cimarron, Kan., is coming off an incredible
sophomore campaign and is one of just four returning players nationally
to record at least 11.5 sacks and 17.5 tackles for losses in 2006.

Last season, Campbell was among the nation’s top pass rushers and earned
All-Big 12 and All-American honors after totaling 67 tackles, 17.5 for
losses, with 11.5 sacks. His 11.5 sacks tied the Kansas State
single-season record and ranked second in the Big 12 Conference and
10th nationally. Campbell collected at least one sack in nine of 13
total games last season and was also a semi-finalist for the Hendricks

The 2006 Houston Chronicle Defensive Player of the Year, Campbell was
the league’s leading tackler among defensive linemen, led the Big 12 in
tackles for losses and ranked third in the league in fumble recoveries
during league play with three.

The Chuck Bednarik Award has been presented since 1995 and is named in
honor of Chuck Bednarik, a former University of Pennsylvania and
Philadelphia Eagle great. Mr. Bednarik is a member of both the College
Football Hall of Fame and the NFL Hall of Fame.

The honor marks the second time this month that Campbell has been named
to a preseason watch list. He is also a candidate for the Bronko
Nagurski Award.

Campbell and Kansas State open the 2007 season with a
nationally-televised game at Auburn on Sept. 1. Kickoff is set for 6:45
p.m. CDT at Jordan-Hare Stadium.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 8171077 - wibw.com/a?a=8171077
Gray Television, Inc.