Topeka Shawnee County Sports Awards Nominees Announced

This year's class includes Topeka High graduate Preston Carrington, a 1972 Olympian; Shawnee Heights graduate Tom Dinkel, who played in the 1982 Super Bowl for the Cincinnati Bengals; and Willie Nicklin, who coached Topeka High from 1970 to 1994 and finished his coaching career with 501 wins.

Athletes from all nine Shawnee County high schools have been nominated.

This is the third year for the high school awards and the second year for the Topeka Shawnee County Sports Council Hall of Fame.

Tickets for banquet are $20 and are available at Visit Topeka Inc., 1275 S.W. Topeka Blvd. Call 234-1030 for more information.



Hayden — Fall: Ryan Geist (football); Winter: Andrew Taylor (basketball).

Highland Park — Winter: Kyle Weems (basketball); Spring: Kyle Burkhardt (baseball); Most Inspirational: Derek Lee (wrestling).

Rossville — Fall: Randy McCune (football); Chris Seele (track);

Seaman — Fall: Miguel Aponte (football); Winter: Matt Nelson (basketball); Spring: Ryan Sayler (baseball); Most Inspirational: Stephone Stephens (football).

Shawnee Heights — Fall: Chris Holly (football); Winter: Chris Holly (wrestling); Spring: Iain Trimble (track); Most Inspirational: Chris Holly (football, wrestling, track).

Silver Lake — Fall: Jason Corwin (football); Winter: Keaton Taylor (wrestling); Spring: Marty Pfannenstiel (track); Most Inspirational: Andrew Brunner.

Topeka High — Fall: Andrew Dale (soccer, football); Winter: Chris White-Ready (basketball); Brandon Haverkamp (golf); Most Inspirational: Adam Sims.

Topeka West — Fall: Kevin Weaver (soccer); Winter: Tyler Tunnell (basketball); Mark Harper (tennis);

Washburn Rural — Fall: Dustin Pickett (soccer); Winter: James Ungerer (swimming); Most Inspirational: Tito Wortham (wrestling).


Hayden — Fall: Bridget Williams (volleyball); Winter: Abi Dodds (basketball);

Highland Park — Spring: Ashley Cushinberry (softball); Most Inspirational: Keli Carter (track).

Rossville — Fall: Josey McDiffett (volleyball); Spring: Sarah Catron (softball); Most Inspirational: Alyssa Howard (track, football).

Seaman: Fall: Sydney Messick (cross country); Winter: Aubree Gustin (basketball); Becca McAndrew (soccer); Most Inspirational: Kaylee Clausen (softball).

Shawnee Heights — Fall: Stefine Pease (volleyball); Winter: Amber Wells (basketball); Spring: Andrea New (softball); Most Inspirational: Stefine Pease (volleyball, soccer).

Silver Lake — Fall: Shannon Lindstrom (volleyball); Winter: Emy Ladner (basketball); Spring: Loren Hewitt (softball). Most Inspirational: Jayme Lindstrom.

Topeka High — Fall: Jackie Hoyt (volleyball); Winter: Jackie Hoyt (basketball); Spring: Elizabeth Coulon (softball); Most Inspirational: Aly Woodbury (volleyball, basketball, swimming).

Topeka West — Fall: Kathryn Davison (cross country); Winter: Moji Hassan (basketball); Spring: Jackie Wolff (soccer);

Washburn Rural — Fall: Adin Stromgren (golf); Winter: Bri Silovsky (basketball); Spring: Kaitlin Meyer (swimming); Most Inspirational: Laura Marshall (softball).

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 7908027 -
Gray Television, Inc.