MIAA Institutional Representatives vote to add Nebraska-Omaha

For immediate release, June 4, 2007

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. -- The Institutional Representatives of the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association voted to approve the application by the University of Nebraska at Omaha for membership to the conference, effective for the 2008-09 academic year.

The vote took place during the MIAA's Spring Meetings, which concluded Friday (June 1) with the IR meeting at the Downtown Marriott in Kansas City, Mo.

The issue now moves to the conference's Chief Executive Officer's Council for ratification. The CEO Council will meet June 22 during the NCAA Division II Presidents and Chancellors Summit in San Diego, Calif.

Terms of membership will be discussed between the conference and UNO once the CEO Council approves the action. All members -- new and continuing -- are bound to adhere to the constitution and bylaws of the conference.

UNO, founded in 1908, as the University of Omaha, has a current enrollment of more than 14,000 students. The 15-sport athletic program has competed in the North Central Conference since 1977.

The school became a part of the University of Nebraska system on July 1, 1968, when it was renamed the University of Nebraska at Omaha.

UNO will have some history to draw from when it joins Pittsburg State, Emporia State, Fort Hays State and Washburn in the MIAA.

Those schools and UNO were members of the Central Intercollegiate Conference from 1959-68 and later formed the Plains Division of the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference from 1968-72 and the Great Plains Athletic Conference in 1972-73.

The Mavericks have enjoyed some long-standing rivalries on the field with several MIAA schools, particularly Northwest Missouri State in football. UNO has met the Bearcats in football eight times since 1996, six in the regular season.

UNO and Northwest Missouri State are scheduled to play Sept. 8 in Omaha this season.

UNO has won 59 conference championships while a member of the NCC in 13 different sports. The Mavericks have won the women's all-sports trophy three straight years and four of the past five seasons.

Maverick teams also have added national titles in softball, women's soccer, volleyball and three times in wrestling while a member of the NCC.

The Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association, a 10-member conference of NCAA Division II institutions in Missouri and Kansas, was first organized in 1912 as the Missouri Intercollegiate Athletic Association, and reorganized in 1924.

A member of the NCAA since 1957, the conference changed its name to the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association in 1992 after Emporia State became the third non-Missouri school to join the circuit.

The MIAA has gained the reputation of being one of the top NCAA Division II conferences in the nation. MIAA student-athletes have won 13 national team championships and more than 140 individual national titles.

The conference also leads in the classroom. MIAA schools have placed more student-athletes on the CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America Team since January 2000 than any other NCAA Division II conference -- 158 as of June 1.

The MIAA conducts championships in eight men's and eight women's sports °© football, cross country, basketball, indoor and outdoor track and field, baseball, tennis, and golf for men and volleyball, soccer, cross country, basketball, indoor and outdoor track and field, softball and tennis for women.

Ralph McFillen, commissioner of the MIAA since July 1997, announced his retirement effective this coming June 30. Jim Johnson, formerly with the NCAA and most recently the director of athletics at Texas A&M University-Commerce, will succeed McFillen on July 2.

-- MIAA --

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 7832442 - wibw.com/a?a=7832442
Gray Television, Inc.