All-MIAA Baseball Team Announced

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. -- Five members of the MIAA regular season champion Central Missouri Mules earned first-team recognition-- four being unanimous choices -- on the 2007 All-MIAA Baseball Team as voted upon by the conference's coaches.

The Mules (48-11, 28-6 MIAA) are led by the unanimous choice as MIAA Most Valuable Player, senior 1B Josh Paul. The Aurora, Colo., native was a unanimous choice at first base, and has hit an MIAA-best 18 home runs (.34 per game) -- two shy of matching the MIAA record of 20.

Paul leads the MIAA in slugging percentage as well with a mark of .782. He's also batting at a .378 clip (fourth in the MIAA) and has 63 runs batted in (1.19 per game -- second in the MIAA).

Two of Paul's fellow UCM infielders also were unanimous selections to the first team. Senior 2B Gered Mochizuki is just ahead of Paul with a .380 batting average (third in the MIAA) and leads the MIAA with a .500 on-base percentage and .78 walks per game. He is one of two repeat selections from last season.

Junior 3B Iain Dykins is second to Paul in the MIAA with a .690 slugging percentage. He's hitting .369 (eighth in the MIAA) with 13 home runs (.22 per game -- fourth in the MIAA) and 59 RBI (1.02 per game -- fifth in the MIAA).

Senior RHP Seth Gilleland rounds out the Mules' quartet of unanimous selections. He's got a 10-1 record -- the most wins by an MIAA pitcher this season -- with a 2.51 ERA (fourth in the conference). Gilleland also struck out 88 batters (9.21 K/9IP -- second in the MIAA).

Junior RHP Bryan Collins was the fifth UCM player on the first team as a relief pitcher. He's 3-0 with a 1.45 ERA and six saves (second in the MIAA) in 19 appearances.

Mules mentor Darin Hendrickson, who led his squad to their seven conference championship, was the choice of his peers as Wilson® Coach of the Year.

There were three other unanimous first-team selections. Senior OF Mark McBratney of MIAA Tournament champion Emporia State (39-22, 24-12 MIAA) joined UCM's Mochizuki as a repeat choice to squad after batting .349 with nine home runs and 69 RBI (1.13 per game -- third in the MIAA).

Senior LHP Bryson Clark of Pittsburg State not only was a unanimous first-team choice, but was selected as the conference's Pitcher of the Year. The Webb City, Mo., native leads the MIAA in ERA (1.94), opponent batting average (.173), shutouts (2) and is tied for the lead in complete games (6). He was 7-2 on the season -- both losses were 1-0 setbacks.

Junior DH Tommy Bone of Missouri Western (28-23, 21-14 MIAA) led the conference for much of the year in batting before slipping to second with a .394 average. He's also hit seven homers and driven home 37, and has 16 doubles on the season (.37 per game -- fourth in the conference).

Rounding out the first team are senior OF Jeff Deao of PSU, senior UT Luke Lawver of Missouri Southern (18-32, 11-24 MIAA), senior LHP Justin Randa of Fort Hays State (33-20, 21-13 MIAA), senior C Ryley Westman and senior SS John White of Northwest Missouri State (30-26, 22-13 MIAA) and junior OF Brad Mountjoy of Southwest Baptist (18-31, 11-23 MIAA).

Deao (.342, 5 HR, 29 RBI) was the MIAA leader in stolen bases (39 -- 0.75 per game). Lawver (.376, 6 HR, 28 RBI, 5-7, 7.10 ERA, 2 Sv.) led the conference in doubles (20 -- .42 per game).

Randa (7-2, 2.38 ERA) is second in the league in earned run average and third in opponent batting average (.230).

The current leader in batting for the conference, 2B Wes Joy of Washburn (21-28, 15-21 MIAA), was selected at the MIAA Freshman of the Year.

The product of Burlington, Kan., ended his season with .401 average, three home runs and a team-best 46 RBI. Joy also earned second-team All-MIAA honors for the Ichabods.

First Team
*Bryson Clark, PSU P 5-11 190 Sr. Webb City, Mo.
*Seth Gilleland, UCM P 6-3 225 Sr. Albuquerque, N.M.
Justin Randa, FHSU P 6-5 210 Sr. Hays, Kan.
Bryan Collins, UCM RP 6-2 210 Jr. Corpus Christi, Texas
Ryley Westman, NWMSU C 6-1 220 Sr. Smithville, Mo.
*Josh Paul, UCM 1B 6-5 220 Sr. Aurora, Colo.
*+Gered Mochizuki, UCM 2B 5-9 180 Sr. Wailuku, Hawaii
John White, NWMSU SS 5-11 179 Sr. Omaha, Neb.
*Iain Dykins, UCM 3B 6-2 190 Jr. Reno, Nev.
*+Mark McBratney, ESU OF 5-10 170 Sr. Wichita, Kan.
Jeff Deao, PSU OF 6-2 205 Sr. Omaha, Neb.
Brad Mountjoy, SBU OF 5-11 190 Jr. Blue Springs, Mo.
*Tommy Bone, MWSU DH 6-1 240 Jr. Atwater, Calif.
Luke Lawver, MSSU UT 6-0 185 Sr. Joplin, Mo.

*=Unanimous selection
+=First-team All-MIAA choice in 2006

Second Team
Brian Lamers, NWMSU P 6-0 150 Sr. Riverside, Calif.
Trent Lare, ESU P 6-4 230 Sr. Vassar, Kan.
Kris Webber, UCM P 6-2 195 Jr. Langley, B.C., Canada
Tyler Nuss, FHSU RP 6-3 225 Sr. Russell, Kan.
Keith Hernandez, ESU C 5-10 210 Jr. Pio Rico, Ariz.
Rob Nelson, FHSU 1B 6-3 220 Sr. Woodinville, Wash.
Wes Joy, WU 2B 5-10 175 Fr. Burlington, Kan.
Brian McBryde, UCM SS 6-0 170 Jr. Humble, Texas
Ben Malick, NWMSU 3B 5-9 180 So. Blue Springs, Mo.
KevinDeao, PSU OF 5-10 165 Sr. Omaha, Neb.
Will Feil, UCM OF 6-2 180 So. St. Charles, Mo.
Tyler Konrade, FHSU OF 6-6 210 Sr. Spearville, Kan.
Troy Landi, MWSU OF 6-1 185 So. Blue Springs, Kan.
Drew Schulte, PSU DH 5-11 203 Sr. Webb City, Mo.
Mark Stoltz, WU DH 6-0 200 Jr. Wichita, Kan.
Luke Dreiling, FHSU UT 5-10 180 Sr. Hays, Kan.

Four outfielders and two designated hitters
selected due to ties in voting

Honorable Mention
Tom Goodwin, FHSU P 6-2 205 Sr. Holdrege, Neb.
Bret Harvel, NWMSU P 6-3 200 So. Lee's Summit, Mo.
A.J. Huttenlocker, MWSU P 6-3 190 Jr. Buckley, Wash.
Mickey Lara, ESU P 6-3 160 Sr. Wichita, Kan.
Randy Wild, WU P 6-3 220 Sr. Maple Hill, Kan.
Bobby McMillen, SBU RP 5-10 180 So. Lee's Summit, Mo.
Chris Radliff, UCM RP 6-1 190 Sr. Niceville, Fla.
Brett Whittle, NWMSU RP 6-2 210 Jr. Wichita, Kan.
Luis Perez, UCM C 6-1 205 Jr. Valencia, Venezuela
Skyler Powers, SBU C 6-0 195 Sr. Diamond, Mo.
Matt Marasco, ESU 1B 6-3 215 Jr. Maize, Kan.
Chris Martinez, SBU 1B 6-0 195 Jr. Littleton, Colo.
Britt Westman, NWMSU 1B 6-3 230 Jr. Smithville, Mo.
Connor Crumbliss, ESU 2B 5-8 170 So. Arkansas City, Mo.
Willie Forrest, MWSU 2B 6-2 190 Sr. Mossyrock, Wash.
Dylan Briggs, FHSU SS 5-10 185 Fr. Hays, Kan.
Brett Hothan, PSU SS 6-1 190 Jr. Tecumseh, Kan.
Sam Walker, MWSU SS 6-0 175 Sr. Sebastopol, Calif.
Tim Barger, ESU 3B 6-2 185 Sr. Overland Park, Kan.
Adam Carolan, MWSU 3B 6-0 185 Jr. Sacramento, Calif.
Luke Naccarato, PSU 3B 5-9 190 Jr. Hutchinson, Kan.
Jason Asher, SBU OF 5-9 155 So. Greenwood, Mo.
Josh Baggett, SBU OF 5-9 160 Jr. Springfield, Mo.
Kyle Peter, WU OF 6-2 175 Jr. Kansas City, Mo.
Bill Sharp, ESU OF 5-11 180 Sr. Liberty, Mo.
Dusty Washburn, FHSU DH 6-3 230 So. Hays, Kan.
T.J. Franklin, PSU UT 6-1 220 Sr. Girard, Kan.
Blaine Rutledge, UCM UT 6-0 195 Jr. Victoria, Minn.

Player of the Year: Josh Paul, 1B, UCM (unanimous choice)
Pitcher of the Year: Bryson Clark, LHP, PSU
Freshman of the Year: Wes Joy, 2B, WU
Wilson® Coach of the Year: Darin Hendrickson, UCM

-- MIAA --

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 7499492 -
Gray Television, Inc.