All-MIAA Softball Team announced

For release at 9 a.m., May 4, 2007

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. -- The Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association regular season champion Emporia State University Lady Hornets (42-10, 15-3 MIAA) placed five players on the All-MIAA first-team as voted by the conference's coaches.

Senior RHP Courtney Reed led the way as the only unanimous first-team selection and the unanimous choice as the inaugural Pitcher of the Year.

She led the Lady Hornets second sweep of the first-team pitchers in as many seasons, with junior RHP Samantha Sheeley joining her on the first team. Reed and MIAA career strikeout leader Melissa Stevens did the honors last season.

Reed enters the MIAA Tournament Friday (May 4) as the conference leader in ERA (1.13), opponent batting average (.134), wins (24), strikeouts (10.17 per seven innings pitched) and shutouts (10).

Sheeley is second to Reed in wins (16) and opponent batting average (.222), and fourth in strikeouts (6.05 per 7IP), ERA (2.03) and shutouts (3).

Reed and Sheeley were joined by senior 3B Megan Davison, senior 2B Chelsea McClearnon and sophomore 1B Jennifer Dace on the first team.

Davison, one shy of the matching the MIAA career home run record entering the tournament with 50 four-baggers, was a first-team choice for the third consecutive year. She's batting .419 with 10 homers and 43 runs batted in and a league-high 29 walks.

McClearnon is batting .323 with two homers, 30 RBI and 41 runs scored as ESU's lead-off hitter. Dace has a .338 batting average (second on the team) with two home runs and 26 RBI.

The only other school with multiple first-team choices was Central Missouri (29-19, 14-4 MIAA). The Jennies can boast the league's Most Valuable Player in senior SS Rachel Adams along with first-team choice and senior DP Lauren Young.

Adams is second in the MIAA with a .470 batting average with nine home runs and a league-high 58 RBI. She's also 12 of 13 in the stolen base department as the Jennies improved their MIAA record by six games from last season's 7-9 mark.

Young split time between designated player and pitcher for UCM, batting .321 with two homers and0 30 RBI. She's drawn 20 walks and is 10-of-10 stealing bases.

Five players joined Reed and Davison as returning All-MIAA first-teamers. Sophomore C Angie Turner of Missouri Southern (16-33, 5-11 MIAA) shared the award at her position with sophomore Hallie McMillen (.370, 2 HR, 36 RBI) of league-newcomer Fort Hays State (22-33, 11-7 MIAA).

Turner (.394, 6 HR, 19 RBI) leads the MIAA in walks (.62 per game).

Truman junior OF Christen Belcher (.387, 0 HR, 11 RBI, 41-44 SBs) -- the MIAA leader in stolen bases (0.95 per game) -- also repeated from last season.

The only other three-time All-MIAA choice is senior UT Lindsey Predovich of Missouri Western (30-22, 10-8 MIAA). Predovich (.385,5 HR, 41 RBI; 13-7, 2.15 ERA, 8.30 K/7) made it as a designated player in 2004 (when she was MIAA Freshman of the Year) and as a utility player last season. She split time between pitcher and first base for the Griffons.

Two others returned to the first team after a year away °© 2005 Freshman of the Year, junior OF Tera Swartslander of Pittsburg State (17-29, 4-14 MIAA), and senior OF Ashley Webb of Washburn (27-18, 11-7 MIAA).

Swartslander (.333, 0 HR, 13 RBI) led the Gorillas in batting as the team struggled to rebuild with nine newcomers -- eight of which were freshmen. Webb (.340, 5 HR, 19 RBI) is third on the Lady Blues in batting in spite of missing 11 games.

Webb's teammate, 3B Tish Williams, earned Freshman of the Year honors and was a second-team choice. She leads the MIAA in batting (.485), home runs (13 -- .29 per game) and RBI (55 -- 1.22 per game), and set the WU single-season home run record.

Central Missouri's first-year head coach, Susan Anderson, shares the MIAA Coach of the Year award for the second time in as many seasons -- she shared it last season with her predecessor, Rhesa Sumrell, as she coached her final season at Northwest Missouri State.

Emporia State's Kristi Bredbenner earned the other piece of the award after guiding her Lady Hornets to the regular season title for the second time in as many campaigns. It is her first award in three seasons as an MIAA head coach.

First Team
(two catchers selected due to a tie in voting)
*+Courtney Reed, ESU P 5-10 Sr. Bonner Springs, Kan.
Samantha Sheeley, ESU P 5-7 Jr. Coralville, Iowa
+Angie Turner, MSSU C 5-5 So. Springdale, Ark.
Hallie McMillen, FHSU C 5-7 So. Topeka, Kan.
Jennifer Dace, ESU 1B 5-4 So. Olathe, Kan.
Chelsea McClearnon, ESU 2B 5-5 Sr. Wichita, Kan.
Rachel Adams, UCM SS 5-8 Sr. Barnhart, Mo.
++Megan Davison, ESU 3B 5-7 Sr. Derby, Kan.
+Christen Belcher, TSU OF 5-4 Jr. Lee's Summit, Mo.
#Tera Swartslander, PSU OF 5-8 Jr. Broken Arrow, Okla.
#Ashley Webb, WU OF 5-11 Sr. Prairie Village, Kan.
Lauren Young, UCM DP 5-8 Sr. Lenexa, Kan.
##Lindsey Predovich, MWSU UT 5-8 Sr. Virginia, Minn.

*=unanimous choice
+=First-team All-MIAA choice in 2006
#=First-team All-MIAA choice in 2005
++=First-team All-MIAA choice in 2005 & 2006
##=First-team All-MIAA choice in 2004 & 2006

Second Team
Lacee Craig, MSSU P 5-10 So. Bartlesville, Okla.
Kelly Swygert, WU P 5-8 Jr. Topeka, Kan.
Sarah Johnson, NWMSU C 5-9 Sr. Olathe, Kan.
Dani White, WU 1B 5-9 So. Berryton, Kan.
Anna Herl, FHSU 2B 5-5 Jr. Hays, Kan.
Brooke DeVader, WU SS 5-8 Jr. St. Marys, Kan.
Tish Williams, WU 3B 5-6 Fr. Norman, Okla.
Nicole Heineman, MWSU OF 5-8 Sr. Omaha, Neb.
Lindsay Stephenson, NWMSU OF 5-3 Sr. Omaha, Neb.
Morgan Viola, ESU OF 5-7 Sr. McPherson, Kan.
Jessica Anastos, FHSU DP 5-8 Fr. Broomfield, Colo.
Katie Noski, TSU UT 5-7 Jr. Columbia, Ill.

Honorable Mention
Kristal Holland, UCM P 5-10 Fr. Basehor, Kan.
Cola Krueger, NWMSU P 5-8 So. Blue Springs, Mo.
Kayla Long, WU P 5-7 Fr. Princeton, Texas
Stephanie Moore, PSU P 5-6 Jr. Pawhuska, Okla.
Kelly Morris, NWMSU P 5-10 Jr. Blue Springs, Mo.
Emily Rockefeller, FHSU P 5-6 Jr. McPherson, Kan.
Lindsey Wagaman, UCM P 5-5 Fr. Emerson, Iowa
Kristi Warneke, MWSU P 5-6 Jr. Beatrice, Neb.
Mandi Daigh, WU C 5-6 Jr. Overland Park, Kan.
Erica LaCombe, TSU C 5-7 Fr. Adrian, Mo.
Courtney Stevens, ESU C 5-3 Sr. Blue Springs, Mo.
Rachael Bowen, MSSU 1B 5-5 Sr. Lansing, Kan.
Malarie Fellers, WU 2B 5-4 Jr. Edmond, Okla.
Erin Leslie, NWMSU 2B 5-1 Fr. Shawnee, Kan.
Emily Herl, FHSU SS 5-5 Jr. Hays, Kan.
April Huddleston, ESU SS 5-5 Jr. Topeka, Kan.
Amanda Nocita, MWSU 3B 5-3 So. Omaha, Neb.
McKenzie Mortimer, SBU OF 5-6 Fr. Pleasant Hope, Mo.
Laura Pfautsch, ESU OF 5-6 Sr. Lenexa, Kan.
Linellis Santiago-Bernier, NWMSU OF 5-3 Sr. Omaha, Neb.
Mandy Tarbutton, WU OF 5-7 Jr. Maple Hill, Kan.
Jessie Wiard, ESU OF 5-4 Jr. Overland Park, Kan.
Miranda Campbell, ESU DP 5-1 Fr. Bogata, Texas
Jessica Jones, PSU DP 5-8 Fr. Osawatomie, Kan.
Megan Simpson, NWMSU DP 5-7 So. Blue Springs, Mo.
Megan Hollenbach, UCM UT 5-6 Sr. Ballwin, Mo.

Most Valuable Player: Rachel Adams, SS, UCM
Pitcher of the Year: Courtney Reed, RHP, ESU (unanimous choice)
Freshman of the Year: Tish Williams, 3B, WU
Co-Coaches of the Year: Susan Anderson, UCM & Kristi Bredbenner, ESU

-- MIAA --

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 7339951 -
Gray Television, Inc.