Anglers Raise Funds for K-State Scholarships

MANHATTAN, Kan. – A total of 268 anglers combined to make Kansas State’s third annual Cabela’s Ahearn Scholarship Fund Fishing Tournament a huge success on Saturday at Milford Lake in Junction City, Kan.

The tournament consisted of 134 two-person teams fishing from boats competing in six different species categories and together helped to raise nearly $30,000 for student-athlete scholarships at K-State.

“Thanks to Cabela’s and the support of the Geary County Convention and Visitor’s Bureau as well as all the fishing organizations from across the state of Kansas the tournament once again proved to be very successful in raising funds for the Ahearn Scholarship Fund,” Assistant Athletics Director for Development Event Lon Floyd said. “In just three years this tournament has become a major event and we look forward to its continued success.”

The 2007 edition of the Cabela’s Ahearn Scholarship Fund Fishing Tournament got underway at 7 a.m. Saturday morning with each team fishing in one of six pre-selected species divisions, including Bass, Walleye, White Bass, Catfish and Crappie. Anglers also compete to catch the largest Wiper.

Ronnie Grice of Manhattan and Doug Smith of Junction City, who teamed up to captured first place in the inaugural tournament in 2005, once again took home the bass division title and a first-place cash prize of $3,160with a total weight of 6.83 pounds. Troy and Tommy Dillon of Manhattan weren’t for behind and took the second-place prize of $1,975 with a total weight of 6.34 pounds.

In the Walleye division, Tim Hersch and Mike Johnston captured the top spot and a first-place prize of $2,246 with a total catch of 15.63 pounds, while Alan Paul of Glava and James Coffey of McPherson, earned a second-place prize of $1,405 for their catch of 10.56 pounds.

Jeffrey Turner of Soloman and Patrick Normandin of Salina were the winners in the White Bass division with a total catch of 12.8 pounds and shared the first-place prize of $700, while Joe Silva of Alma and Colby Brummett of Wamego split the first-place prize of $632 in the Catfish category with a total haul of 47.6 pounds.

Bob Roberts and Marvin Cain of Salina were the final winners of the day, taking first in the Crappie division and a $423 prize with a total weight of 7.33 pounds. In addition, the Geary County Convention and Visitors Bureau gave a cash prize of $500 to Virgil Brown of Olpe for catching the largest Wiper of the tournament. The fish weighed in at 5.48 pounds.

The net proceeds from the tournament benefit the Ahearn Scholarship Fund. Founded in 1964, the Fund’s primary objective is to raise money from the private sector for athletic scholarships and capital improvements at Kansas State University.

Final Results

Cabela’s Ahearn Scholarship Fund Fishing Tournament

April 23, 2005

Milford Lake, Junction City, Kan.


1 Doug Smith, Junction City – Ronnie Grice, Manhattan
6.83 lbs.

2 Troy Dillon, Manhattan – Tommy Dillon, Manhattan
6.34 lbs.

3 John Maldonado, Chapman – Lance Maldonado, Chapman
6.15 lbs.

4 Cole Schmidt, Manhattan – Brad Taylor, Kansas City
5.54 lbs.

5 Chris Scherbering, Abilene – Jason Baird, Gypsum
4.52 lbs.

6 Bobby Tindahl, Riley – Lisa Tindahl, Riley
3.29 lbs.

7 Kenny Bammes, Manhattan – Tom Orazem, Manhattan
3.22 lbs.

8 Duane Miller, Riley – Deb Miller, Riley
2.92 lbs.

9 Kipton Burba, Manhattan – Aaron Sims, Junction City
2.86 lbs.

10 Justin Brin, Olathe – Jason Brin, DeSoto
2.74 lbs.


1 Tim Hersch, Topeka – Mike Johnston, Topeka
15.63 lbs.

2 Alan Paul, Galva – James Coffey, McPherson
10.56 lbs.

3 Brian Hein, Wichita – Kurt Shaw, Hillsboro
9.92 lbs.

4 Robert Rogge, St. George – Sheldon Rogge, St. George
8.77 lbs.

5 Mark Joy, Wichita – Justin Miller, Wichita
8.73 lbs.

6 Ken Ullmer, Milford – Arland Shandy, Riley
8.58 lbs.

7 Brent Emich, Holton – Wayne Callen, Madison
8.05 lbs.

8 Derek Gilsdorf, Salina – Curtis Gilsdorf, Salina
6.70 lbs.

9 Gary Johnson, Oakley – Ray Luhman, Colby
4.86 lbs.

10 Larry Pilgrim, Papillion, NE – Randy Pilgram, Omaha
4.85 lbs.

White Bass

1 Jeffrey Turner, Solomon – Patrick Normandin, Salina
12.80 lbs.

2 John Miesner, Manhattan – David Miesner, Manhattan
12.77 lbs.

3 Audrey McQueen\Roger McQueen, Canyon City, CO
12.66 lbs

4 Nick Gent, Salina – Mike Blaha, Salina
12.48 lbs.

5 Loren Johnston, Salina – Rita Johnston, Salina
12.41 lbs.

6 Kyle Hornung, Spearville – Dan Konrade, Spearville
11.48 lbs.


1 Joe Silva, Alma – Colby Brummett, Wamego
47.60 lbs.

2 David Coleman, Kansas City – Russell Coleman, Kansas City
38.80 lbs.

3 Chris Falk, Alma – Ben Sisson, Carbondale
32.50 lbs.

4 Michael Mawn, Junction City – David Basil, Junction City
15.55 lbs.

5 Claude Shumway, Topeka – Renne Shumway, Topeka
13.05 lbs.


1 Bob Roberts, Salina – Marvin Cain, Salina
7.33 lbs.

2 Larry Beuthin, Halstead – Robin Beuthin, Halstead
7.02 lbs.


1 Virgil Brown, Olpe
5.48 lbs.

Tournament Notes

Total Number of Competitors – 268

Large Bass – Scherbring/Baird
4.52 lbs.

Large Walleye – Hersch/Johnston
6.82 lbs.

Large Catfish – Silva/Brummett
36.2 lbs.

Large Wiper – Brown
5.48 lbs.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 7278241 -
Gray Television, Inc.