Florida's Tebow first sophomore to win Heisman Trophy, Daniel Fourth

NEW YORK (AP) _ Tim Tebow is the first sophomore to
win the Heisman Trophy. The Florida quarterback outpointed Arkansas
running back Darren McFadden to win the 73rd Heisman, college
football's most prestigious trophy.
Tebow threw for 29 TDs and ran for a Southeastern
Conference-record 22 scores for the Gators. He passed for 3,132
yards and only six interceptions while rushing for an additional
838 yards.
Tebow says he thinks of the Heisman as a ``team award,'' and
thanked his Gator teammates and coaches profusely after winning the
The six-foot-three, 235-pound Tebow is the third Gator QB to win
the Heisman. He joined fellow Florida signal-callers Danny Wuerffel
(WOR'-fihl) and Steve Spurrier.
McFadden has been a Heisman finalist the past two seasons. The
junior finished second with 1,703 points to Tebow's 1,957. Hawaii
QB Colt Brennan was third with Missouri QB Chase Daniel fourth.

(Copyright 2007 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 12282366 - wibw.com/a?a=12282366
Gray Television, Inc.