12 Hornets Earn All-MIAA Honors

By: ESU, posted by Kinch O'Kelley
By: ESU, posted by Kinch O'Kelley
Emporia State placed three players on the both the All-MIAA first and second teams and added six more to the honorable mention list.

ESU Football Vs Ft. Hays State

November 13, 2012- Emporia State placed three players on the both the All-MIAA first and second teams and added six more to the honorable mention list. The six players on the first and second teams are the most for the Hornets since they placed 11 on the first and second teams in 2003. It is the third straight year ESU has had at least one player named first-team all-conference honors.

Shjuan Richardson, Adam Schiltz and Ben Carlson earned first-team All-MIAA honors while Tyler Eckenrode, Lance Uhles and Chris Poston were named to the second-team.

Richardson led the MIAA in receiving yards and 100 yard games and was second in receptions and touchdown catches. He has 78 catches for 1,182 yards and 11 touchdowns on the season to rank eighth in the nation in receiving yards and 17th in catches.

Schiltz led all MIAA tight ends in receiving yards and was second in total catches. He had 36 receptions for 495 yards and a touchdown this season, including a career high eight catches for 150 yards against Washburn in his last outing.

Carlson led Emporia State in tackles with 104 on the season. He is ranked sixth in the MIAA in tackles and leads the league in fumble recoveries. He is the first Hornet to crack the century mark in tackles since Chad Pratz had 103 in 2001.

Eckenrode led the MIAA in passing and total offense and had twice as many 300 yard games as the next quarterback in the league. He was 251 of 398 for 3,439 yards with 24 touchdowns and just ten interceptions. He added 201 yards rushing for 3,640 yards of total offense and is one of just three player in NCAA Division II with 200 yards rushing and 3,500 yards of passing. He is ranked seventh in total offense and eighth in passing offense in the nation. It is the first time in four years that the MIAA's leading passer was not selected first-team All-MIAA at quarterback.

Uhles earned second-team All-MIAA honors for the second straight year. He was the only player on the Hornet offense that graded out over 90% in every game this season. He recorded 66 knockdowns from his center position and did not allow a sack on 421 pass attempts. He has won the Squarehead Award as Emporia State's Offensive Lineman of the game in six of 11 games this year.

Poston ranked 14th in the MIAA in interceptions with three. He was third on the team with 59 tackles on the year.

Six Hornets garnered honorable mention honors, five of them on the defensive side of the ball. Defensive lineman Dakota Hagler, linebackers Jordan Sanders and Jeff Richards, and defensive backs Kevin Gaddis and Derek Lohmann earned honorable mention for the defense. Ray Ray Davis was the lone honorable mention pick on the offense.

Emporia State is 9-2 on the season and will be playing in the Kanza Bowl against Texas A&M-Kingsville on November 25 in Topeka, Kan.

QB – Travis Partridge, Missouri Western
RB – Michael Hill, Missouri Western
RB – Joshua Birmingham, Central Oklahoma
WR – Shjuan Richardson, Emporia State
WR – John Brown, Pittsburg State
TE/FB – Adam Shiltz, Emporia State
OL – Steve Dieckhaus, Washburn
OL – Cody Holland, Pittsburg State
OL – Macon Allan, Missouri Western
OL – Rod Williams, Northwest Missouri
OL – Logan Freeman, Central Missouri
K – Todd Adolf, Northwest Missouri
RET – John Brown, Pittsburg State
DL – David Bass, Missouri Western
DL – Ben Pister, Missouri Western
DL – Brandon Williams, Missouri Southern
DL – Travis Chapelear, Northwest Missouri
LB – Ben Carlson, Emporia State
LB – Nate Dreiling, Pittsburg State
LB – Collin DeBuysere, Northwest Missouri
DB – O’Hara Fluellen, Lincoln
DB – Richie Schumaker, Truman
DB – Pierre Desir, Lindenwood
DB – Nate DeJong, Northwest Missouri
P – Kyle Goodburn, Northwest Missouri
MIAA Offensive Player of the Year
Michael Hill, RB, Missouri Western
MIAA Defensive Player of the Year
Brandon Williams, DL, Missouri Southern
MIAA Special Teams Player of the Year
John Brown, KR/PR, Pittsburg State
MIAA Freshman of the Year
Michael Jordan, DB, Missouri Western
MIAA Coach of the Year
Jerry Partridge, Missouri Western

QB – Tyler Eckenrode, Emporia State
RB – Joel Rockmore, Northeastern State
RB – Denodus O’Bryant, Lindenwood
WR – Dallas Grier, Truman
WR – Tyler Shaw, Northwest Missouri
TE/FB – Tore’ Hurst, Washburn
OL – John Rouse, Fort Hays State
OL – Lance Uhles, Emporia State
OL – Colt Schulte, Missouri Western
OL – Michael Bowie, Northeastern State
OL – Cole Manhart, Nebraska-Kearney
K – Taylor Anderson, Missouri Western
RET – Jordan Simmons, Northwest Missouri
DL – Patrick Blackwell, Truman
DL – Herbert Byrd, Central Oklahoma
DL – Gus Toca, Pittsburg State
DL – David Bax, Central Missouri
DL – LaTavious Davis, Central Missouri
LB – Langston Jones, Northeastern State
LB – Jameson Manuma, Southwest Baptist
LB – D.J. Gnader, Northwest Missouri
DB – Chris Poston, Emporia State
DB – Shane Simpson, Missouri Western
DB – Sam Kuck, Nebraska-Kearney
DB – Brandon Dixon, Northwest Missouri
P – Matt Jordan, Central Missouri
P – Eric Phillips, Truman
Honorable Mention
Emporia State –
Ray Ray Davis, Wide Receiver
Dakota Hagler, Defensive Line
Jeff Richards, Linebacker
Jordan Sanders, Linebacker
Kevin Gaddis, Defensive Back
Derek Lohmann, Defensive Back

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 179122771 - wibw.com/a?a=179122771
Gray Television, Inc.