K-State's Nelson Named As Finalist For Biletnikoff Award

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State senior Jordy Nelson is one of three wide receivers nationally to be named a finalist for the 2007 Biletnikoff Award, given annually to the nation’s top collegiate wide receiver, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation has announced.

Nelson, who currently holds 11 K-State receiving records, is the first Wildcat receiver to be named a finalist for the award and the first player since Darren Sproles (Doak Walker Award) in 2003 to be named a finalist for one of the major player awards in college football.

A native of Riley, Kan., Nelson has had one of the finest seasons in K-State history as he has grabbed a school-record 107 receptions for a school-record 1,441 yards and 10 touchdowns. His 9.7 catches a game average, 131.0 yards per game average and 1,441 total receiving yards all rank second nationally, while he also ranks 20th nationally in all-purpose yardage (154.4 ypg). He also has set the Big 12 record for catches and yards in a season by a senior wide receiver.

Nelson has recorded seven 100-yard receiving games and two 200-yard performances this season and has caught 10 or more passes in five games, all of which are school records. His 15-catch performance against Missouri State and his 214 yards receiving at Iowa State set single-game K-State records, while his three receiving touchdowns at Oklahoma State tied the school record.

The former walk-on has 191 receptions for 2,657 yards and 19 touchdowns during his three-year stint at wide receiver to establish himself on three career top-10 receiving lists at K-State. He is currently second all-time at Kansas State in catches and receiving yards, while he is third in career receiving touchdowns.

The winner will be announced on December 6 during ESPN’s College Football Awards Program in Orlando, Fla. Other finalists for the award include Texas Tech’s Michael Crabtree and Michigan’s Mario Manningham.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 11625716 - wibw.com/a?a=11625716
Gray Television, Inc.