Washburn's Mainz earns MIAA MVP Soccer Honor

Four players earn first-team honors for a third consecutive season; Mainz repeats as MVP

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- Four players earned their third consecutive selection to the All-MIAA Women's Soccer First Team, in a vote of the league's coaches prior to the conference tournament.

One of the four three-time selections -- junior F Jessica Mainz of Washburn (10-6-5, 8-2-4 MIAA) -- also earned repeat selection as the conference's Most Valuable Player.

She is currently ranked second in the MIAA in scoring (1.76 ppg) and goals (0.71 gpg) and is tied for first in assists (0.33 apg), as she led the Lady Blues to a berth in the inaugural MIAA Postseason Tournament. Mainz also climbed to third on the conference's career scoring (97 pts.) and goals (41) lists.

Junior M Nikki Llewellyn from Missouri Southern (11-5-3, 7-5-2 MIAA), the MIAA's leader in scoring (2.05 ppg) goals (0.95 gpg) and game-winning goals (5), was another three-time first-team choice. Her 18 goals in 2007 is one shy of tying the MIAA single-season record.

The other two three-time selections are from regular season co-champion Central Missouri (12-4-3, 10-3-1 MIAA) -- junior M Carrie Twellman and junior F Hazel Cox.

Cox and Twellman were both catalysts to the Jennies' first soccer championship. Cox leads the team in scoring (16 points) and tied for the team lead in goals (6) -- three of her goals were game-winners. Twellman has scored four goals this season -- two coming on penalty kicks.

The unanimous choice for MIAA Freshman of the Year, F Dominie Emmanuel of Southwest Baptist (9-8-3, 8-5-1 MIAA), joined Mainz and Cox as first-team choices on the front line. She's scored 10 goals and is the MIAA's top freshman scorer (1.10 ppg).

Rounding out the first-team are senior GK Aline Lopes, junior B Aude LeChat and sophomore M Caitlin Tull of SBU; junior B Lisa Fahey of WU, senior B Kelsi Ginavan of UCM, and two players from conference tournament winner and regular season co-champion Truman (15-6-1, 10-3-1 MIAA) -- senior B Emily Newsham and sophomore M Katie Reuck.

The coaches of the regular season co-champs -- Central Missouri's first-year leader Lewis Theobald and Truman's Mike Cannon -- shared the Brine® Coach of the Year award.

It is the seventh time in the nine seasons of MIAA women's soccer Cannon has either won or shared the award.

2007 All-MIAA Women's Soccer Team

First Team
Aline Lopes, SBU GK 5-9 Sr. São Paulo, Brazil
Lisa Fahey, WU B 5-7 Jr. Parkville, Mo.
Kelsi Ginavan, UCM B 5-5 Sr. Olathe, Kan.
Aude Lechat, SBU B 5-8 Jr. LaChappelle St. Aubin, France
Emily Newsham, TSU B 5-5 Sr. St. Charles, Mo.
++Nikki Llewellyn, MSSU M 5-7 Jr. O'Fallon, Mo.
Katie Reuck, TSU M 5-3 So. Jacksonville, Ill.
Caitlin Tull, SBU M 5-8 So. Yuba City, Calif.
++Carrie Twellman, UCM M 5-4 Jr. Chesterfield, Mo.
*Dominie Emmanuel, SBU F 5-2 Fr. London, England
*++Jessica Mainz, WU F 5-9 Jr. Topeka, Kan.
++Hazel Cox, UCM F 5-5 Jr. Olathe, Kan.

*=Unanimous selection
++=First-team All-MIAA in 2005 & 2006

Second Team
Elizabeth Casey, UCM GK 5-6 Sr. Olathe, Kan.
Brittany Cash, NWMSU B 5-4 Sr. Kansas City, Mo.
Kylee Schuhler, UCM B 5-6 So. Olathe, Kan.
Ashley Turner, MSSU B 5-10 Sr. Columbia, Mo.
Erin Whelan, MSSU B 5-3 Jr. Belleville, Ill.
Kim Wolff, TSU B 5-4 Jr. Florissant, Mo.
Katie Buning, TSU M 5-8 Jr. St. Augustine, Fla.
Angela Dobbie, UCM M 5-7 So. Overland Park, Kan.
Keeley Lambeth, WU M 5-0 So. Lenexa, Kan.
Traci Nigg, WU M 5-6 Jr. Wichita, Kan.
Danielle Ayala, WU F 5-5 Jr. Rohnert Park, Calif.
Isabel Gaeta, TSU F 5-5 So. Naperville, Ill.
Meigan Soo, MWSU F 5-5 Jr. Fresno, Calif.
Jessica Wiegert, TSU F 5-10 So. West Des Moines, Iowa

Five backs and four forwards selected due to ties in voting

Honorable Mention
Kaney Tyler, MSSU GK 5-7 Sr. Topeka, Kan.
Shaylynn Milbourn, MWSU GK 5-11 Sr. St. Joseph, Mo.
Taylor Fowler, SBU B 5-2 Fr. Cincinnati, Ohio
Kaydi Hooker, WU B 5-6 Jr. Casper, Wyo.
Danielle Sicard, WU B 5-7 Fr. Topeka, Kan.
Amanda Olah, NWMSU B 5-6 Fr. Alpine, Calif.
Kelsey Thomas, MSSU B 5-2 Jr. Manhattan, Kan.
Amy Davis, MSSU M 5-5 Sr. Fenton, Mo.
Amanda Freeman, NWMSU M 5-6 Fr. Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Brigitte Pohren, TSU M 5-5 Jr. Omaha, Neb.
Rachael Schmidt, TSU M 5-5 Sr. St. Charles, Mo.
Christina Swartz, SBU M 5-5 Sr. Honolulu, Hawaii
Angela Wiseman, WU M 5-6 So. Topeka, Kan.
Amanda Deml, NWMSU F 5-8 So. Lee's Summit, Mo.
Manon Engelhardt, WU F 5-7 Jr. Derby, Kan.
Melanie Hall, UCM F 5-8 So. Topeka, Kan.
Stephanie Heines, MSSU F 5-4 So. San Antonio, Texas
Katelyn Talcott, TSU F 5-8 Jr. Omaha, Neb.

Most Valuable Player: Jessica Mainz, F, WU
Freshman of the Year: Dominie Emmanuel, F, SBU (unanimous choice)
Brine® Co-Coaches of the Year: Mike Cannon, TSU & Lewis Theobald, UCM

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 11029276 - wibw.com/a?a=11029276
Gray Television, Inc.