First Provisional Pole Times Set at 2007 SCCA Runoffs

TOPEKA, Kan. (October 8, 2007) – The first provisional pole times of the 44th SCCA National Championship Runoffs Presented by AT&T have been set on a day that started cold and wet, but ended perfectly at Heartland Park Topeka.

While the first sessions of the day faced weather reminiscent of last year’s Runoffs, resulting in many drivers opting to skip their session, the skies fortunately cleared and the sun came out in full-force just before the lunch break.

Tom Thrash, of Houston, Texas, appears to have the new course configuration down at Heartland Park and currently holds pole in both E Production and GT-3 in his Mazda RX-7s.

Kansans Jesse Prather and Chris Bovis are provisional polesitters. Defending F Production National Champion Prather splashed to the FP provisional pole at the wheel of his Mazda Miata in the first soggy session of the day, while Bovis has his Honda CRX on the provisional GT-Lite pole.

Andrew Caddell, of Graham, Wash., took the first step to his Spec Miata title defense by grabbing the class provisional pole.

The second day of qualifying kicks off with Showroom Stock B at 8:00 a.m. (CDT) tomorrow. You can follow qualifying via online timing and scoring at Full results from day one are also available. Just click the SCCA Runoffs logo to be directed to the event page.

The SCCA National Championship Runoffs® Presented by AT&T, The Pinnacle of American Motorsports, will crown Sports Car Club of America’s Club Racing National Champions for the 44th-consecutive year in 2007. The best amateur drivers from across North America convene on Heartland Park Topeka’s 2.5-mile road course each fall in what is considered the “Olympics” of motorsports. This year’s event begins with four days of qualifying, Oct. 8-11, and concludes with three days of racing, Oct. 12-14.

TOPEKA, Kan. - SCCA National Championship Runoffs qualifying leaders after day one, with class, driver name, driver hometown, car and pole time.

A Sedan – Phillip Smith, New Albany, Ohio, Chevrolet Camaro, 1:46.128

C Sports Racing – James Christian, Boulder, Colo., Van Diemen SRSCCA, 2:00.457

D Sports Racing – J.R. Osborne, Castle Rock, Colo., Stohr WF-1, 1:29.231

E Production – Tom Thrash, Houston, Texas, Mazda RX-7, 1:42.024

F Production – Jesse Prather, Topeka, Kan., Mazda Miata, 1:59.366

G Production – Chuck Mathis, Saint Jacob, Ill., Volkwagen Rabbit, 1:47.692

F500 – Brian Novak, Dearborn, Mich., NovaKar J360, 1:38.856

Formula Atlantic – Tonis Kasemets, Mundelein, Ill., Swift 014, 1:23.428

Formula Continental – Rossella Manfrinato, Alpharetta, Ga., Tatuus RC97, 1:49.702

Formula Ford – Ethan Shippert, Petaluma, Calif., Van Diemen RF97k, 1:38.431

Formula Mazda – Jamie Slone, Tuscan, Ariz., Star Formula Mazda, 1:34.492

Formula Vee – Michael Varacins, Burlington, Wis., Speed Sport Am-5, 2:00.585

GT-1 – Tony Ave, Mooresville, N.C., Chevrolet Corvette, 1:31.303

GT-2 – Tom Patton, Hamilton, Ohio, Sunbeam Tiger, 1:39.677

GT-3 – Tom Thrash, Houston, Texas, Mazda RX-7, 1:58.630

GT-Lite – Christopher Bovis, Lawrence, Kan., Honda CRX, 1:45.922

H Production – Brian Linn, Hermosa Beach, Calif., MG Midget, 1:50.337

Touring 1 – Andrew Aquilante, Chester Springs, Pa., Chevrolet Corvette, 1:41.351

S2000 – Mark Hardymon, Deleware, Ohio, Carbir CS-2, 1:57.830

Spec Miata – Andrew Caddell, Graham, Wash., Mazda Miata, 1:52.363

Showroom Stock C – John Heinricy, Royal Oak, Mich., Chevrolet Cobalt, 1:55.578

Showroom Stock B – Michael Scornavacchi, Manheim, Pa., Pontiac Solstice, 1:53.120

Spec Racer Ford – Scott Treat, Howell, Mich., Spec Racer Ford, 1:53.995

Touring 2 – Don Knowles, Pittsboro, N.C., Pontiac Solstice, 1:46.626

Touring 3 – John Heinricy, Royal Oak, Mich., Chevrolet Cobalt, 1:49.480

Attached Image: Tom Thrash put a Mazda RX-7 on pole in both E Production (pictured) and GT-3.

Credit: Bruce Morton

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 10330542 -
Gray Television, Inc.