More Headlines

Five Tech Trends To Watch In 2013

Posted: 01/01/2013 - 2013 will be a year of harsh change for the tech industry. We've just experienced five years of rapid, messy and disruptive innovation, and smartphones and tablets aren't the future any longer -- they're the present.

Read More

Hollywood Movies Can (mis)Educate Us

Posted: 12/26/2012 - Can a movie actually convince you to support torture? Can a movie really persuade you that "fracking" -- a process used to drill for natural gas -- is a danger to the environment?

Read More

Before I die, I want to ...

Posted: 12/25/2012 - On a quiet August day I lost someone I loved very much. Her name was Joan and she was a mother to me for 15 years. Her death was sudden and unexpected, and there were still so many things she wanted to do: Learn to play the piano, live in Paris, see the Pacific Ocean.

Read More

How to deal with guns in school

Posted: 12/21/2012 - Last week's massacre at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut, appears to have at least temporarily changed the debate on gun control and opened the door to new restrictions.

Read More

On Gun Control, Look To Biden

Posted: 12/19/2012 - President Obama's poignant speech at Sunday's interfaith vigil in Newtown, Connecticut, set the tone for our mourning.

Read More

Opinion: Mourn, And Take Action On Guns

Posted: 12/14/2012 - Police reports are still coming in, and we are only beginning to grasp the scale of this tragedy. Friends are describing their panic as they try to reach their children in schools that are on lockdown.

Read More

Right To Work Laws: Will They Conquer America?

Posted: 12/14/2012 - Michigan Gov. Rick Snyder's stunning decision to sign a right-to-work law poses the question: Are these anti-union statutes, which make illegal any union contract that requires union membership or payment of dues a condition of employment, the future?

Read More

Have Yourself A Merry Atheist Christmas!

Posted: 12/13/2012 - "Fox News is usually credited with spreading the panic about this war on Christmas. Bill O'Reilly talks about atheists and left-wing loons ruining Christmas for children."

Read More

Will 401(k) Plans Keep Getting Worse?

Posted: 12/12/2012 - IBM, one of America's largest companies, shook the employee compensation world when it announced recently that it would contribute only once every December to its employees' 401(k) accounts.

Read More

Why America's Unions Are Losing Their Power

Posted: 12/11/2012 - Michigan is the latest 'Rust Belt' state to approve a right-to-work law. It's the latest sign that organized labor's influence is waning in the U.S. Some analysts blame heavy tactics by big business; others say it's just politics.

Read More

Opinion: Dispel The Immigration Myths

Posted: 12/11/2012 - Despite the election cycle rhetoric surrounding immigration, which would make it seem like the rest of the world is swarming across U.S. borders like ants to a picnic, gobbling up our resources, the reality is quite different.

Read More

GOP, Look To Bush On Immigration

Posted: 12/07/2012 - '"Haven't we at least learned this much: In many restaurant kitchens in America, it is immigrants who work up a sweat making lunch for the rest of us."

Read More

War On Drugs A Trillion-Dollar Failure

Posted: 12/06/2012 - We could learn a thing or two by looking at what Prohibition brought to the United States: an increase in consumption of hard liquor, organized crime taking over legal production and distribution and widespread anger with the federal government.

Read More

Costas Gun Control Commentary Gets Notice

Updated: 12/04/2012 - Bob Costas' "Sunday Night Football" halftime commentary supporting gun control sparked a Fox News Channel debate Monday on whether NBC should fire him and a Twitter storm involving Ted Nugent, Rosie O'Donnell, Herman Cain and many more.

Read More Gallery

Opinion: Shoes A Start, But Homeless Need Far More

Posted: 12/04/2012 - Who could resist the touching story of the New York policeman who, seeing a homeless man sitting barefoot in the cold, walked into a shoe store and bought him a new pair of all-weather boots?

Read More

Opinion: A Tax We Could Learn To Love

Posted: 12/03/2012 - David Frum: Carbon dioxide emissions worldwide are at record levels. To strike a blow against climate change, U.S. should enact a carbon tax, Frum says. He says it would provide revenue, allow for middle-class tax relief, spark economy.

Read More
1 2
631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability